Chocolate Pots de Creme

DSC_2075
If you love chocolate… if you love pudding… if you love mousse… if you love eating chocolate mousse like pudding… make these. Don’t count the calories… but make these. Make them for your friends. Partly because you love your friends, partly because if you don’t make them for others you will probably eat them all yourself and I can’t have that on my conscience 😉

I made these for a dinner my Mother hosted at her house for some co-workers. They were a hit… at least that’s what I gathered from the silence at the table once the first spoonfuls were consumed! This was my first shot at pots de creme and I liked this recipe because it didn’t require doing a water bath in the oven. Not a fan of lugging giant pans of extremely hot water in and out of my oven.

Ok ok… on to the chocolate…

DSC_2045
I used dark chocolate from Trader Joe’s. They are so reasonably priced 🙂 9 oz get chopped up…

DSC_2046
Toss that all in a blender or Ninja… I.Love.My.Ninja. I am pretty confident that after my Kitchen Aid mixer this is quickly becoming my favorite kitchen gadget. It obliterates… dominates… it’s effective 🙂

DSC_2047
Measure out 1 1/2 cups whole milk and pour into a heavy saucepan.

DSC_2048
Add in 1 cup heavy cream…

DSC_2049
and 6 egg yolks. This is where you stop counting calories… Actually stop after the milk… But hey, save the egg whites for a nice healthy egg white omelette for breakfast 🙂 It all works out 😉

DSC_2051
Back to the good stuff… 5 Tbs sugar go in.

DSC_2053
Finally 1/4 tsp salt.

DSC_2052
Whisk that all together and heat over medium heat to medium high until it is almost to the point of boiling but not boiling, scalding. I monitor the temp by quickly dipping my finger in to see how hot its getting but that’s just me. It’s done when it easily covers the back of a wooden spoon with a film.

DSC_2054
Once it gets to that point remove it from stove and pour it into the blender/Ninja. Put on lid and if using a blender cover with a towel to prevent hot liquid from coming out the top. My Ninja seemed to contain it quite well. Just another reason to love it 🙂

DSC_2055
Blend/obliterate this all until smooth. You may have to stop and scrape chocolate bits off the side and blend again for a bit.

DSC_2057
Pour into ramekins or small cups and refrigerate to set. It will take 2-3 hours. I did mine the night before.

DSC_2076
Serve with freshly whipped cream, chocolate shavings, crushed peppermint sticks, powdered sugar… whatever you feel led to use. This is really a pretty simple way to make a pretty impressive little dessert. Try it soon!! You will make friends for life 🙂

Chocolate Pots de Creme
9 oz chocolate, chopped
1 1/2 cup whole milk
1 cup heavy cream
6 egg yolks
5 Tbs sugar
1/4 tsp salt

Place chopped chocolate in blender. Heat remaining ingredients in heavy saucepan over medium to medium-high heat until it scalds, just before boiling. Pour cream mixture over chocolate in blender and blend until smooth, using spatula to scrape down any chocolate bits on side. Pour into ramekins and place in fridge for at least 2-3 hours to set. Top with fresh whipped cream.

Whipped Cream
1 cup heavy whipping cream
1/4 sifted powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla

Whip cream with whisk attachment on mixer until soft peaks form. Add in sifted powdered sugar and vanilla. Whip!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chocolate Pots de Creme

  1. Caitlin says:

    YUM! The egg yolks are just brain food. 😉

  2. Carolyn says:

    These were awesome! I think Toni summed it up best when she said after finishing her Pots de Creme, “Would it be rude to lick the dish?” This dessert was a great way to finish off an
    incredible meal.

  3. paulina says:

    Hi, Kitchen Tutor! Your recipe seems amazing, and very similar to one I’m trying to make. I used the America’s Test Kitchen recipe, but it is almost identical to your recipe. The method is exactly the same.

    It is my first time doing pots de creme last night. I woke up this morning and my little creations did not set at all. It is just as liquidy as it was last night when I poured them into their ramekins. The texture is definitely not that of mousse or pudding. More like chocolate milk.

    What am I doing wrong?

    • kitchentutor says:

      Hello,
      Sorry for the late response! I would guess that you did not cook the mixture on the stove long enough. You should see steam rising from the pan and almost hear a rumbling sound from the bottom of the pan as the liquid is wanting to start to boil. What happened to you has happened to me before so I know the frustration! Once you pour the mixture onto the chocolate there is no going back so here is my suggestion. When you think it has cooked long enough pour about 1/4 cup of the mixture over the chocolate. When the bottom of the pan is exposed you should see a bubbly thick coating almost like it is burnt. If it is under cooked the mixture will pool away from the bottom of the pan leaving just a clean / milky look to it. Also, as soon as you blend it you will know because it should immediately look like pudding. It should be thick. Hope this helps!

      • paulina says:

        Thanks for the response. I think you’re right, that I hadn’t cooked the mixture long enough.

        I think I had the same problem with my creme brulees a few weeks before the chocolate pots de creme. I think the bain marie wasn’t hot enough, or I didn’t cook the custard long enough.

        I will try again.

        Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

