Super Healthy Oatmeal Cookies

DSC_2100
This is a great cookie recipe to make when you want to pass on some nutrition to your kids, spouse, friends, etc. and make them believe they are getting away with eating a treat. There is no straight up sugar added, only honey… oh, and any sugar you add in if you decide to add chocolate chips or dried fruit. They are also low fat with only a 1/4 cup of olive oil. My son is impossible to please at breakfast so I came up with these as a ‘breakfast cookie’ to get something healthy in him in the form of an indulgence. I made them an hour ago and he’s already had a few πŸ˜‰

DSC_2080
Start out with a cup of flour. Wheat flour if you can handle it, I used Pamela’s GF Pancake & Baking Mix. If you use regular flour you will add 1/2 tsp each baking soda and baking powder.

DSC_2081
Next comes Β 1 3/4 cups oats. I used Bob’s Red Mill GF oats. You use whatever works for you.

DSC_2082
Add in 1/2 tsp salt…

DSC_2085
and a couple Tablespoons of cinnamon. More if you like… less if you like…

DSC_2091
Next I added 1 Tbs of ground flax. Always good to sneak in some flax where you can.

DSC_2087
It’s easier to see in person but I’ve got 1/4 cup olive oil in here and 1/2 cup honey. Pour in the oil first so the honey sticks less to the cup when you pour it out πŸ™‚

DSC_2088
Next comes 1/4 cup applesauce. If you don’t want to use applesauce you can bump the oil up to 1/2 cup… but I say go for the applesauce.

DSC_2089
Next comes 1 egg beat with 1 Tbs of water. I beat mine in the 1 cup measuring scoop. The less dishes the better!!

DSC_2090
Finally a tsp of vanilla…

DSC_2092
Mix that all up and pour it over the dry ingredients.

DSC_2093
Give it all a good stir then drop in a heaping scoop of peanut butter. I’m guessing there’s maybe 1/3 cup here. I didn’t feel like measuring it out πŸ˜‰

DSC_2094
Next come the mix ins of your choice. I went for chocolate chips because I’m appealing to a specific audience here and I figure once I hook them on the cookies I can modify the mix ins later πŸ™‚

DSC_2095
We also added in some sunflower seeds for crunch. Mix around then pop into the fridge for 20 minutes. Preheat your oven to 335, since you are using honey and not sugar. Honey burns at a lower temp. Fun fact!

DSC_2097
Line a couple baking sheets with parchment paper and drop by the tablespoonful. Bake for 15-20 minutes.

DSC_2098
It’s kinda tricky at first to see if these are done. They are already kinda brown to begin with. I kinda poked at them and when they seemed pretty firm they were done. Let cool on a rack completely then enjoy!!

DSC_2101
Don’t they look tasty…

Super Healthy Oatmeal Cookies
1 cup flour
1 3/4 cups oatmeal
1/2 tsp salt
1 Tbs cinnamon (can add more)
1 Tbs ground flax (optional)
if not using GF flour – 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup applesauce
1/2 cup honey
1 egg (lightly beat with 1 Tbs water)
1 tsp vanilla
1 large scoop peanut butter
Mix ins of your choice

Mix dry ingredients in large bowl. Mix wet ingredients in small bowl. Pour wet ingredients over dry, mix. Add in peanut butter and mix ins. Chill in fridge for 20 mins. Preheat oven to 335. Bake on parchment lined baking sheets for 15-20 minutes until firm to touch and slightly browned. Cool completely on racks.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Super Healthy Oatmeal Cookies

  1. I will so be making these!!! Well not this week, this week I’ve got gingerbread, buckeyes and cake balls planned, but next week for sure!! I bet they will taste good with my coffee!!

  2. Mmmm…gonna have to try these out. I also have a guy who doesn’t love breakfast.

  3. Making these for the second time today. In the oven and am very excited for 15 min from now πŸ˜€

  4. Pingback: Wrapped | jakennicksmomma

  5. Icceez says:

    Havent made the cookies yet but the dough tastes good! πŸ˜€ I used craisins instead of chocolate chips: DELISH!!

Leave a Reply

