Jalapeno Poppers!

I originally posted this recipe as one of my firsts when I started this blog!! It’s still one of my favorites and these babies deserve a spot on any appetizer table!! Enjoy!!


I made these the other night… I miss them… I need to make more…

This wasn’t something I came up with. Here is the original recipe. I’d love to say I made it my own and tweaked it but there are only 3 ingredients here and there’s just not much you need to change… they.are.perfect! They literally disappear when you put them in front of guests… if you have any to offer your guests after you sample the first 1/2 dozen… maybe that’s just me… I can’t be trusted alone in a room with bacon, that’s just the truth…

So! Here we go!


Here’s your grocery list… bet you can handle that! These jalapenos were a bit longer than I wanted but it’s February in the midwest and that’s just the way it goes sometimes…


Wash up your peppers and then slice them all in half. If the stems are super long I give them a little trim.


You will have a scene like this…


Next take a spoon and clean out the seeds and ribs. I use a metal measuring spoon because it seems more “sharp” and I can really dig in there. If you want some spice leave 1… just 1 seed in. If you want a lot of spice leave a few in. It really doesn’t take much to make this hot! Sorry about the blurry picture… I think my stomach was growling 🙂


Next, slap some plain cream cheese in each one. There’s no real trick here. You can let your cream cheese sit out for a while to soften a bit. I didn’t have time to do that and it still worked, you just have to have determination!


Take your bacon out and cut it into thirds. You could cut it in half but you can make more this way and if your peppers are nice and bite size this is plenty of bacon per popper. Trust me… if you needed more bacon I’d be the first to tell you!


Now wrap a piece of bacon around the top of the popper and secure it with a toothpick.


Line a baking sheet with foil. PUT YOUR POPPERS ON A BAKING RACK!! PLEASE!! I’ve used a rack every time but this last time and they’ve always turned out perfect. I just had to mess with the order of things because I didn’t feel like washing the baking rack afterward… don’t let this laziness happen to you. They were still good but the bacon didn’t get crispy on the bottom and the peppers seemed a little soggy. Let this be a lesson to you. Use a baking rack! Spray it with cooking spray before you put the peppers on.

OK… Crank your oven to 375 and let these bake for about 15-20 minutes until the bacon is mostly done. Now put them on a top rack and pop the broiler on for just a couple of minutes. This will crisp the bacon perfectly and get the cream cheese nice and toasty… Then they’re done!


These are pretty darn easy!! You should make these and try to eat just one!!

Jalapeno Poppers

20 jalapeno peppers
2 8 oz bricks of cream cheese
1 lb bacon

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

