Scalloped Potatoes

DSC_1635
I’ve heard bananas are the perfect food… don’t believe it. It’s potatoes 😉 In my world anyway! I don’t think I’ve met a potato dish I haven’t liked. I was inspired by my cousin’s blog Salt-n-Stuff, click here, to make scalloped potatoes the other night. I am very thankful for the inspiration. Of course, I had to throw my own spin in there a bit but she got me going down the right path. Click here to check out her post on scalloped potatoes then scroll down here for mine!

DSC_1620
Obviously… you’ll need some potatoes… scrub them up! Peel or don’t peel, it’s your decision.

DSC_1621
Start some butter melting on the stove.

DSC_1622
Slice your potatoes into 1/4 inch slices. No need to be exact…

DSC_1623
Once your butter is good and hot…

DSC_1624
add in some flour and whisk around. This will get thick and lumpy and look like a failure but that’s just how it should be 😉 Let it cook like this for a minute.

DSC_1625
Then add in some milk and stir around. It will start to thicken in a couple of minutes.

DSC_1626
Add in some salt, pepper, and heavy cream 🙂 Never mind the day’s mail my son shoved onto the hot stove just as I was taking this pic!

DSC_1627
OK, this is where I went off on my own. I’m a sucker for cheese and I was curious how the tang would work with the scalloped potatoes so I threw some in. You wouldn’t have to! You could slip in some other kind of cheese or just leave well enough along and add no cheese. So many options…

DSC_1628
Next butter a baking dish and have your sous chef precisely arrange the potato slices in the dish one at a time… if you have a few hours on your hands…

DSC_1629
Thankfully… I did… 🙂

DSC_1631
Now ask your sous chef to take a step back while you bring over your hot pan of white sauce and dump it over the potatoes. Be sure to stir the potatoes around in here a bit to be sure each one gets coated. Assure your sous chef her precise placement of potatoes was not done in vain.

DSC_1632
They are all set! Cover with foil and pop into your preheated oven for an hour. Remove foil and cook uncovered for another 15-20 minutes to let them brown a bit on top. Feel free to kick on the broiler if you want, I did!

DSC_1633
And you will be rewarded with this… oh, the creamy, potatoey, blue cheesey goodness… try to remain calm while they cool a minute… I was very happy with the flavor the blue cheese added so if you’re into blue cheese give this a try. If not, feel free to do your own thing 🙂

DSC_1635
but feel free to lean in really close and inhale all the wonderful aromas. This is where I decided there were so many more possibilities in my future scalloped potatoes. Maybe roasted garlic… bacon… caramelized onions… who knows!

This is a side you need to plan a bit ahead for to get them done in time but they are well worth it! Give them a try and let me know what you changed/added to make them your own 🙂

Scalloped Potatoes
5-7 russet potatoes, scrubbed, peeled or not
1 stick butter
1/3 cup flour
1 cup milk
1 cup heavy cream
salt & pepper

Cut potatoes into thin slices. Heat oven to 375. Place in bowl with cold water to prevent browning. Melt butter in saucepan over med-high heat. Once it’s bubbling add in flour and whisk. Let cook for a minute. Pour in milk while whisking. Add salt & pepper generously and stir until sauce thickens. Add in cream and stir, remove from heat. Butter baking dish and add in potatoes. Pour white sauce over potatoes and toss to coat. Cover with foil and bake for 1 hour. Remove foil and bake additional 15-20 minutes until browned or broil for a few minutes. Serve hot!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Scalloped Potatoes

  1. nicoleighn says:

    Yum! I too love anything potato! Well…all but one. The only potato I don’t like….potato salad. Challenge…..make a tasty potato salad that doesn’t involve any mayo, mustard, pickles, or any other food item I don’t like. 🙂

  2. Jessica says:

    Approximately how much cheese did you use? You didn’t mention it in the list. Not that I follow recipes to a “t” – but a rough estimate is nice.
    Growing up we always had scalloped potatoes and HAM. Another interesting fact, I always thought it was pronounced “escalloped” – ’cause I’m refined like that. 😉
    AND I was looking for a scalloped potatoe recipe a few weeks ago, so thank you for channelling your “Jessica-brainwave.” Apparently it takes a while for the brainwave to cross the Great Divide.

    • kitchentutor says:

      Hey Jessica!! I’ll try to tune into the Jessica channel in my brain more frequently 🙂 Feel free to shout out something you’d like to have me post on anytime! So I just shook the cheese container over the pot a bit… maybe 1/2 – 3/4 cup?? You could get away with a cup 😉 I LOVE scalloped potatoes and HAM, heavy on the ham but my husband doesn’t eat HAM!!!! I could do it on half the pan I guess…
      Yes, you are refined… that’s what the Light did to all of us, ha!!!

  3. Thank you for always making my dinners so perfect!!! I love ur step by step with the pictures it’s so helpful!

  4. Marilyn Humphrey says:

    no matter how I try , my cream sauce ( no cheese ) curdles
    why ???????????????

    • kitchentutor says:

      My does a bit too, Marilyn. I believe the fat and the milk proteins separate during the baking process. If it were in a pan and you were stirring it constantly it would be consistently blended but since it is on it’s own so to speak it is easier to separate… Just a guess 🙂 Does it still taste good??? That’s my biggest concern!!

Leave a Reply

