Mac & Cheese

DSC_1286
I could go on and write for pages about my love of mac & cheese. I.Love.Cheese. I love melty, salty cheese. Throw in some soft, chewy pasta and you just can’t beat it. Kids love it. Adults love it. We eat plenty of the boxed kind… not gonna lie but every now and then I get the motivation to make it from scratch and it’s always a treat. It’s really quite easy since I stumbled upon this recipe from Pioneer Woman. This is one of the few recipes I stick to pretty strictly… well except mine is gluten free!! But I’ll explain how to make it either way.

DSC_1263
Start by shredding some cheese. Don’t use pre shredded for this. If you’re going to put in the effort… go all the way! I’m sure everyone could argue their case for almost every kind of cheese out there so I suggest you try whatever you like and experiment the next time. I like a good melting cheese so I started with some Havarti…

DSC_1264
I gotta have some cheddar in there to so I rounded out the pound of cheese with some marbled cheddar. Try to refrain from eating too much at this point… you need to save room for the finished product!

DSC_1265
OK, get some water boiling for your pasta and put a heavy pot on the stove. Start by dropping in some butter. (Note: this is not a fat free recipe)

DSC_1266
Next comes the flour, gluten free flour, or corn starch… whichever you can and want to use. Stir that around and let it cook a while.

DSC_1267
Now grab and egg and beat that a bit in a small bowl. Set aside…

DSC_1268
Check on your butter/flour mix…

DSC_1269
Pour in some milk. PW calls for whole milk but we usually don’t have that on hand and I haven’t had any issues with using any fat level of milk. So… use what’s in your fridge!

DSC_1270
You’ll also add some ground mustard now. Seems weird the first time but it really enhances the flavors and I recommend at least giving it a shot!

DSC_1271
Whisk that all together and let it cook until it thickens. A good way to know how thick it is will be to stir with your wooden spoon and then look at the back of the spoon. If there is a “film” on the spoon it is thickening nicely.

DSC_1272
Now, you need to temper your egg. This means taking about 1/4 cup of the hot mixture and drizzling it slowly into the beaten egg while quickly continuing to beat the egg. This will bring up the temperature of the egg without scrambling it. Scrambled egg mac & cheese… not so amazing…

DSC_1273
Once that’s nice and hot you are ready to add it to the pot. Yes, that’s my recipe on the left. I do follow them once in a while. Not often though, as you can see my handwriting is quite lousy!!

DSC_1275
OK, so slowly drizzle the tempered egg into the milk mixture continuing to mix until combined.

DSC_1276
Now grab that big, glorious bowl of shredded cheese and dump it in.

DSC_1277
Use your whisk to get it started melting and making nice with all that creamy goodness.

DSC_1278
Once that gets going add in some seasoning. A little salt, pepper, and seasoned salt. Maybe a dash of hot sauce… whatever makes you smile 🙂

DSC_1279
Whisk until smooth and then do what you know is the right thing to do… get a spoon and get yourself a taste. This is important for more that just stopping your drool… you need to make sure it has enough salt, pepper… everything.

DSC_1280
Once it’s to your liking… grab your cooked and drained past and dump it in there…

DSC_1281
Notice how suddenly all the worries of the day are starting to fade… the stresses are melting down your shoulders… your stomach is grumbling… that’s normal. Give it all a good stir to coat all those noodles and get inside.

DSC_1282
Pour all this magic into a large baking dish or several ramekins. Cover with some additional shredded cheese. I realized I was halfway into this process before I remembered to take a pic… not sure why I was so excited 😉

DSC_1284
Bake until cheese is melty and everything has had time to hang out and blend. Get your bowls out while this is in the oven cause once it comes out you won’t want anything to stand in your way!

DSC_1286
Get yourself a good portion and maybe throw some veggies on the side to make you feel better. This is one of my kids’ plates… I didn’t have the guts to show you my bowl… let’s just say it was plenty!

The weather is getting cool and this is an amazing comfort food for a nice cool fall night. Give it a shot… what could go wrong?!?!

Mac & Cheese
4 cups dried macaroni
1/4 cup flour (or gluten free or corn starch equivalent)
1/4 cup butter
2 1/2 cups milk
2 tsp dry mustard
1 egg, beaten
1 lb shredded cheese
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp seasoned salt
1 tsp black pepper

Melt butter in heavy pot over medium heat. Add in flour and whisk until smooth. Allow to cook about 5 minutes, whisking. Start cooking pasta. Beat egg. Pour in milk, add mustard, and whisk until smooth. Cook for 5 minutes until thick. Reduce to low. Take 1/4 cup sauce & temper egg. Add egg mixture to milk mixture, whisking to combine. Add in cheese and seasonings. Whisk until smooth. Taste to check seasonings. Add in cooked and drained pasta. Stir to combine. Dump into baking dish or ramekins. Sprinkle with shredded cheese. Bake at 350 until cheese is melted and bubbly. Let set for a couple minutes out of the oven and serve!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mac & Cheese

  1. Dacia says:

    Oh my word that looks heavenly! I cannot wait to make this! I love Mac n cheese and although I do limit my cheese I would definitely treat myself
    to this recipe. I will just make sure to invite people over to eat it with me!

    • kitchentutor says:

      If I could send you just a bowl I would!! You could cut it in half! Or freeze half or like you said have people over… that’s always the best idea I think! I ate waaaayyy too much an my sinuses were a wreck after but it was mostly worth it…. must have been since I ate it again for lunch 🙂 Oops!

  2. Stephanie says:

    YUMMO!!!!

  3. I’ve tried before to make mac & cheese myself, but I’ve never liked the outcome and I go back to the blue box
    I’m looking forward to giving your recipe a try, It think the havarti might be what I need, and dry mustard, interesting!!…I’m getting excited!!

  4. Making this again! Kids and I love it!!

Leave a Reply

