Chipotle in Adobo Marinated Chicken

DSC_1220
Chicken… you can never have too many good chicken recipes in your pocket! I did a yogurt marinated chicken post a while back and loved how moist and flavorful the yogurt made the chicken. I wanted to do that again but I have a hard time making the exact same thing twice so I needed a plan. My new favorite ingredient of the year has to be chipotles in adobo sauce. I love the smoky, spicy flavor they add so I thought this would be a good match… it was!

DSC_1211
I started out the same way with some onion and garlic…

DSC_1210
Instead of the lemon juice I added lime juice to follow with that Mexican flair. (Honestly… I was out of lemons but had a bag of limes… but that doesn’t sound cool)

DSC_1212
After blending all that up I added a couple of tablespoons of chipotles in adobo sauce. What? Those don’t look like the ones you buy? They are too solid? Oh, that’s cause I opened a can last week and threw the rest in a ziploc bag in the freezer and just broke off a couple frozen chunks today and threw them in. I’m thrifty like that…

DSC_1213
I also added in some cumin, salt, & pepper…

DSC_1214
turned that to mush…

DSC_1215
Added in some plain greek yogurt…

DSC_1216
Blend that up… Man, there’s so much onion, garlic, and capsicum in here you could cure about any ailment. Just pop a straw in here and you’re set. Not to mention the probiotics!! Or… you could just use it as a marinade…

DSC_1218
Last time I did cut up chicken pieces but today it was a whole skinless chicken. Taking the skin off an entire chicken… not my favorite pasttime… Cover the chicken in all this goodness, cover with plastic wrap and let marinate in the fridge for 8 to up to 24 hours. It’s worth the wait.

DSC_1220
Pop into an oven and let it go! I turned the broiler on for a few minutes at the end to let it get all crusty and crispy. Sorry I don’t have a picture of this all cut up and cute on a plate… I was hungry folks…

Chipotle in Adobo Marinated Chicken
Chicken – 1 whole or cut up pieces, skin off
1 small onion
3 cloves garlic
3 Tbs lime juice
1 cup plain greek yogurt
1-2 Tbs chipotles in adobo sauce
1 tsp cumin
2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper

Blend onion, garlic, lime juice, and chipotles in blender or food processor. Add in yogurt, cumin, salt and pepper. Mix until combined. Coat chicken, cover in plastic wrap. Allow chicken to marinate for 8 hours or up to 24 hours. Bake uncovered at 350 or grill until done. Allow to cool for 5 minutes before cutting.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chipotle in Adobo Marinated Chicken

  1. ....RaeDi says:

    This looks and sound incredible! It is a must to try! ….RaeDi

Leave a Reply

