Aunt Trudy’s Taco Salad

DSC_1044
This is edible nostalgia to me πŸ™‚ I remember picnics and gatherings with my Dad’s side of the family where this salad was often present. I remember watching Aunt Trudy mix all the fresh ingredients up on the spot. I remember picking things out of it I didn’t appreciate at the time and devouring the rest. It’s a little retro but I believe I can help it make a comeback… at least in my neck of the woods!!

It’s all the goodness of a taco dinner with the ease of being able to pair it with another favorite off the grill. It can be as healthy or indulgent as you choose. Basically… it’s my new favorite to bring to anything I’m invited to involving food. You wanna try it, just invite me over πŸ™‚ or… make it yourself, it’s easy!!! It’s great if you need something to make a day ahead too and just assemble before your gathering. Would be perfect for tailgating!!

DSC_1034
Here’s the before picture of the ingredients you will need to make this happen. I’ll list them below, too. BTW, for all you gluten free folks out there… regular Doritos have flour in them. I discovered our local store brand does NOT!! Bless their hearts!! Be sure to check the labels of your store’s brands.

OK, let’s get cooking. Start browning your ground beef on the stove.

DSC_1035
Next, drain your chili beans. DON’T RINSE THEM!! Just drain them. You want the flavor but don’t need all the liquid that comes with them. Throw them in a storage container and set aside.

DSC_1038
Once your ground beef is cooked, mix it with the taco seasoning. Add this too your bowl of beans and stir. This will now go into the fridge but it’s nice to let the flavors mix a bit. You don’t want to put hot ground beef into your taco salad so try to let this cool in the fridge for at least a couple of hours.

DSC_1039
The prep for the other ingredients is pretty self explanatory so I’ll just recap for you. Shred your cheese, slice your black olives, dice and de-seed your tomatoes (cause that’s how I like them!), chop up your lettuce into bite sized pieces and wash. Place each in its own container to travel. Grab a big bowl to mix it all together in. Leave for your picnic, party, or just head to your dinner table πŸ™‚

DSC_1043
Just before it’s time to eat dump all your ingredients into your large bowl. Crush up the chips as much or as little as you want. Use as many as you see fit.

DSC_1044
Drizzle on some 1,000 island dressing. I think the next time I make this I’ll dress it with a mix of my homemade salsa and sour cream or plain yogurt… mmmmm…. I was also thinking this would be great with some diced avocado, maybe some red onion, or even some sliced radishes… you could really go crazy here… and you should!

DSC_1045
This picture makes my mouth water… I could just live in there… right next to that olive and bean… neighbors with a tasty piece of chip and some cheese… My name is Laura and I’m a foodaholic! You gotta make this!

Taco Salad
1 lb ground beef (or turkey)
1 pkt taco seasoning (or home blend)
1 can chili beans (or black beans)
Nacho chips
1 head lettuce (any type works)
1,000 island dressing or salsa/sour cream mix (enough to lightly dress salad)
Fixins of your choice – shredded cheese, black olives, diced tomatoes, diced avocados, sliced radishes… anything you think sounds good.

Brown meat and mix with seasoning packet. Drain but do not rinse beans. Transfer beans to storage container. Add in seasoned meat, stir and place in refrigerator to cool. Prep other ingredients – shred cheese, chop lettuce, dice veggies. If traveling, place ingredients in separate containers. Pack large bowl and spoon to mix salad at location.

To assemble combine ingredients except dressing and stir. Slightly crunch up chips. Pour small amount of dressing and stir. Add more if necessary. Serve immediately!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Aunt Trudy’s Taco Salad

  1. Callie says:

    Oh I can taste it!!! Bring back LOTS of good memories… only thing missing is Grandpa Belows grilled ‘cheecone’.

  2. Techweev says:

    This looks too delicious not to try out πŸ™‚ Great recipe can’t wait to try it. -Gem

  3. Pingback: Recipe: Aunt Trudy’s Taco Salad « Techweev

  4. Goodness this looks good!! Cant wait to make me a bowl!!

  5. My mom used to make this the same way….so good! Thanks for posting the recipe!!!

Leave a Reply

