Light Coleslaw w/ Radish & Scallions

DSC_0990
I made this coleslaw this weekend… so light… so crunchy and delicious. I didn’t create it, I stole it from the Pioneer Woman… she’s kind of amazing… I did add a couple of my own touches. Either way it’s super easy and a great light side for any summer meal. Give it a try!

DSC_0981
Here’s what you need as far as fresh ingredients… coleslaw mix or finely shredded cabbage, thinly sliced radishes, thinly sliced scallions, chopped cilantro, fresh squeezed lime juice. You’ll also need olive oil, salt & pepper and anything else you might want to throw in. I added sesame seeds and sunflower seeds.

DSC_0984
Mix all but the lime juice and olive oil in a large bowl. Drizzle olive oil over and season with salt and pepper. Taste… if more oil is needed add in small amounts and recheck.

DSC_0986
Next comes the lime juice… Add in and check for flavor… add more if needed. Sorry for the blur 😉

DSC_0988
I couldn’t resist adding in some sesame seeds and a handful of sunflower seeds. Just seemed like the right thing to do at the time.

DSC_0990
After a quick stir it’s ready to go!! How easy was that?!?! And fresh and light and tasty!! Who needs heavy coleslaw… well… I do now and then but the rest of the time this will be my go to!!

Light Coleslaw w/ radish & scallions
16 oz coleslaw mix or shredded cabbage
3 scallions, thinly sliced
8 radishes, thinly sliced
2 Tbs cilantro, roughly chopped
1 1/2 -2 Tbs fresh lime juice
6-8 Tbs olive oil
1 tsp sesame seeds
1/4 cup sunflower seeds

Mix all but olive oil and lime juice in large bowl. Drizzle 6 Tbs olive oil over and stir. Season with salt and pepper. If more oil is desired add more. Drizzle with 1 1/2 Tbs lime juice. Taste, if more lime is desired add more. Serve or chill!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Light Coleslaw w/ Radish & Scallions

  1. I bought radishes for the first time today so I can make this coleslaw tomorrow. I am looking forward to it 😀

  2. OH MY GOODNESS!!! BEST COLESLAW EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am linking it to my FB account.

  3. Janet says:

    I might try this even though I might have a little more work with it since here in Germany they don’t sell cabbage that is already cut. Thanks for the idea. 😉
    Janet

Leave a Reply

