Pasta w/ Pesto Cream Sauce

DSC_0979
Yes, this is the 2nd pasta w/ cream sauce recipe I’ve posted in the past week or so… It was mostly an accident. I had a ton of fresh basil in my garden that needed to be used up so I was browsing what the Pioneer Woman might do with homemade pesto and found her recipe for pesto cream sauce. Granted, this recipe uses substantially LESS cream than the roasted garlic sauce… it’s still creamy and delicious.

Grab a handful of basil and let’s get rolling already!!!

DSC_0962
Either I have a tiny food processor or I grow giant basil… you be the judge…

DSC_0964
Along with the basil add in some grated parmesan and a couple of peeled cloves of garlic.

DSC_0969
Next to the party comes some pine nuts, thank you very much Stacey, and some salt and pepper. I didn’t add enough salt… add enough salt, please. Pulse all this until it’s obliterated pretty well… then drizzle in the olive oil…

DSC_0973
and you will get something like this… mine seemed to be a little light on the basil and heavy on the parm… just fine in my world 🙂

DSC_0966
Want to be happy for the rest of your life? Next time you make this chicken… (click here) and you will make this chicken… make a few… several extra. What’s more convenient than having a ready cooked chicken breast at your disposal????

DSC_0967
BAM!! 2 minutes later I have a pile of chicken sliced thinly and ready for my pasta.

DSC_0970
Drop the chicken (optional to use chicken) into a pan…

DSC_0971
Pour in some heavy cream and drop in a couple pats of butter… Heat this up.

DSC_0972
Once it is nice and warm throw in some parmesan…

DSC_0974
Add in your pesto… all of it and give it all a good stir. Oh, and make some pasta in there somewhere 🙂 Do I have to tell you everything!?!?

DSC_0975
There ya go… add in your cooked pasta. I used brown rice fuscili because of its shape I knew it would hold plenty of the pesto sauce. Give that all a good stir and check your seasonings.

DSC_0976
Drop by the heaping spoonfuls into large bowls 😉 Do it!! Enjoy!!

Basil Pesto Cream Sauce
1 cup fresh basil
3 Tbs pine nuts
1/2 cup grated parmesan
2 cloves garlic, peeled
salt & pepper
1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/2 cup heavy cream
2 Tbs butter
1/4 cup grated parmesan (additional)
pasta of your choice
Add in options (chicken, diced fresh tomatoes, asparagus… whatever sounds good)

In a food processor add basil, pine nuts, 1/2 cup parm, garlic, salt & pepper. Pulse to combine. Add oil to top of processor while it mixes. Blend until completely combined. Check for seasoning.
Heat cream and butter in pan over med-low heat. Add 1/4 parm and pesto. Stir to combine. Add in drained pasta and toss to combine. Add in other options whenever 🙂 Enjoy!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pasta w/ Pesto Cream Sauce

  1. Eli says:

    I love reading your posts every day (or so…). You make it seem so easy, and humorous at the same time. I mean this in the nicest way possible… I wish someone in your household was lactose-intolerant (like me)! It’s quite a challenge finding substitutes for all the things I used to eat in my former life.

    Possibly something to keep in the back of your mind for a future post or two.

    Keep up the good work, Laura!

    • kitchentutor says:

      Thanks Eli!! I appreciate the desire for me to not be able to enjoy one of my favorite things in the world… dairy!! Ha!! I’ll try to keep you in mind for some good dairy free dinners… 🙂

Leave a Reply

