Rhubarb Crunch

DSC_0823
I.Love.Rhubarb. My Mom has a gigantic rhubarb patch and that works well for me 🙂 There are all sorts of great things you can make with rhubarb but my very favorite is rhubarb crunch. I got this recipe from my brother… more about him later. Let’s get cooking!

DSC_0805
Roughly chop up enough beautiful rhubarb to make 4 cups. Dump that into an 8 by 8 baking dish or a cute dish that holds the same amount as an 8 by 8 🙂

DSC_0807
In a small saucepan on the stove bring water, sugar, and cornstarch to a boil. Remove from heat and stir in some vanilla.

DSC_0810
Pour this over the rhubarb.

DSC_0811
Now drop a stick of butter into the still hot pan to melt it. No need to rinse or wash your pan here… it’s all going to the same place, folks 🙂

DSC_0813
Now for the crunch topping. In a medium bowl mix together flour, brown sugar, oatmeal, cinnamon, and salt.

L & L 03
Back to my brother. He has taught be some valuable stuff over the years… don’t shoot a BB gun at a piece of sheet metal, don’t put your tongue on both prongs of a D battery… stuff that lasts with you for a lifetime 🙂 One of the most culinary of all the bits of wisdom I’ve gleamed from him is that you can never have too much crunch on rhubarb crunch. You’ll notice this recipe has a lot of crunch. If you think about it… when was the last time you were eating something with a crumble topping and thought “Wow, I wish there was less buttery, oatmeal brown sugary goodness on here!”. Exactly… so out of all the times my brother has been wrong… this is not one of them 😉

Back to the recipe!

DSC_0815
Pour the now melted buttery magic over the mixed dry ingredients.

DSC_0816
Give it a quick stir to make sure everything has a bit of butter on it.

DSC_0817
Crumble over the rhubarb mixture with your fingers. Pop this into the over for about an hour.

DSC_0818
It will come out looking something like this…

DSC_0819
Oh, that bubbly syrupy sugary rhubarby goodness… Now comes the hard part… attempting to let it cool so it can set. I fail every time.

DSC_0820
Therefore, my bowl of crunch ends up looking like rhubarb crunch soup but I’m ok with that. If you can hold out until it sets… you win!

DSC_0821
I could say the ice cream is optional but it’s really not. Look at it start to melt into the hot crunch soup 🙂 All we had was Neapolitan so I ended up with a little strawberry in there to but everyone knows strawberries and rhubarb go great together so no worries here!

If you can get your hands on some rhubarb you gotta try this crunch! It tangy and sweet and crunchy and oh so delicious. Trust me, I’ve already had 2 bowls and it’s not completely cooled yet 😉

Rhubarb Crunch
4 cups rhubarb, roughly chopped
1 cup water
1 cup sugar
2 Tbs cornstarch
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup flour
1 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup oatmeal
1/2 cup/1 stick butter
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp salt

Heat oven to 350. Place rhubarb in baking dish (8 by 8 or equivalent). Bring sugar, water, and cornstarch to a boil on the stove. Remove from heat and add in vanilla. Pour over rhubarb. Melt butter in hot pan. In medium bowl mix flour, br. sugar, oatmeal, cinnamon, and salt. Pour melted butter over dry ingredients and mix. Crumble over rhubarb mixture in baking dish. Bake for about an hour. Allow to cool most of the way, if you can 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rhubarb Crunch

  1. Callie says:

    This looks soooooo stinkin good! But I don’t get it… how are you not large as a barge? So not-fair. But I guess I still love you. Eat some for me. Eat a LOT for me. ROLL in it for me!!! YUMMM!!!

    • kitchentutor says:

      I chalk it up to my washer and dryer being downstairs 😉 With all our laundry I’m always doing stairs… and you’ll be happy to know I’m on a steady gain now!!! I do blame you 🙂

Leave a Reply

