Homemade BBQ Sauce

DSC_0776
Grilling season is upon us! One of my favorite things about grilling is BBQ. I love coating delicious grilled meat in tasty tangy BBQ sauce! I had never made my own sauce before yesterday but I had become frustrated with every store bought sauce being mostly sugar/corn syrup/high fructose corn syrup… yuck! I did some research on making my own sauce and came up with a basic blend that can be customized to whatever style sauce you like. Once again… this is the first time I’ve made it and I’m sure some people take this very seriously… I’m not claiming to have perfected this but I’m convinced it’s easy enough to start making it on my own with natural real ingredients!

OK, enough chatter… here’s how it came together…

DSC_0757
First I gathered a bunch of ingredients. I’ve got some organic ketchup (Trader Joe’s), worchestershire sauce, apple cider vinegar, brown sugar, salt, pepper, cumin, grated onion, minced garlic, sauce from can of chipotles in adobo.

DSC_0760
Next I melted some butter in the bottom of a medium saucepan over medium heat.

DSC_0758
Next came the grated onion, minced garlic, and sauce/seeds from chipotles in adobo. I grated the onion to avoid large chunks of onion in the sauce.

DSC_0763
I let this stuff cook down in the butter for a few minutes to become tender.

DSC_0768
Next came the ketcup. I used organic to once again avoid the corn syrup. Also, this has such a richer, truer tomato flavor.

DSC_0769
Then came the cider vinegar…

DSC_0770
and the worchestershire…

DSC_0771
From here on out you can really make it what you want. I wanted kind of a smoky sweet flavor so I mixed in some brown sugar and cumin. You could do honey as a sugar alternative, you could do yellow mustard if you’re into more tang, you could add some hot sauce if you wanted to spice it up. You can really add whatever you think will suit your taste. Once everything is stirred in let the sauce simmer for about 10 minutes then remove from heat to cool completely.

DSC_0754
I wanted my chicken to have plenty of flavor so I mixed up a quick dry rub of chili powder, paprika, oregano, cumin, salt, and pepper. No measurements required!

DSC_0773
Next I coated the chicken with the rub until they took on a very crazy red glow 😉 When barbecuing you need to be sure to grill the meat most of the way before putting any of the BBQ sauce on. When I BBQ I only turn the meat twice. I baste the meat with BBQ sauce on the done side after turning it the first time. Once the other side is done cooking I turn it over to baste and let the heat of  the grill set the sauce and start to caramelize the sauce.

DSC_0776
Soon enough I was very pleased to be staring at a pile of gorgeous BBQ chicken coated in my first BBQ sauce! What a fun feeling!! If you’ve never made your own sauce you’ve got to give this a shot. It’s really quite easy and you can customize it to your taste!!

Simple BBQ Sauce
1 Tbs butter
1/2 small onion, grated
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 cups ketchup
1/3 cup cider vinegar
2 Tbs worchestershire sauce

Melt butter over medium heat. Add in onion and garlic and cook until tender, 3 minutes. Add in ketchup, vinegar, worchestershire sauce and a combination of your own favorite ingredients to suit your taste such as:
brown sugar
cumin
honey
fresh herbs
Hot sauce
Chipotles in adobo sauce
yellow mustard

Bring ingredients to a simmer for 10 minutes and then allow to cool completely before using.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

