Crash Hot Potatoes

DSC_0730
You can never have too many potato cooking techniques up your sleeve. You can never have too many potatoes either… in my opinion! I found this one on the Pioneer Woman blog a while back and have been meaning to try it. So glad I did!

Here’s how to make your own!

DSC_0711
Start with some baby reds in a large pot covered with water. Add Salt. Boil until they are fork tender. You don’t need to poke them with a fork… fyi…

DSC_0712
While they are boiling grab a baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil. This will keep them from sticking to the pan.

DSC_0715
Drain your fork tender potatoes and line them up on the baking sheet.

DSC_0716
Next came some test kitchen type stuff… PW uses a potato masher like this to smash down once and then turn a quarter turn and smash again.

DSC_0719
I did that and my potato got all stuck in the masher and broke all apart.

DSC_0720
I then grabbed a juice glass and used that to smash down the next potato. Wonderful!! But it didn’t give the top of the potato that rustic landscape…

DSC_0721
For me I decided I preferred smashing the potato with the juice glass and then giving it a quick mash with the potato masher to rough up the top side. Use whatever method you see fit. I’m just here to go through the trials for you πŸ™‚

DSC_0723
Next drizzle or brush potatoes with olive oil. Season generously with salt and pepper. Potatoes need salt!!! Add in some fresh rosemary or thyme or any other herb you may prefer.

Bake at 450 for about 20-25 minutes and you’re set!

DSC_0729
They are crispy and creamy and oh so wonderful! They are a great pair to a nice steak and pan sauce. Click here for my take on that!Β They would pair quite well with about any main dish and they are pretty darn easy!

Try them tonight!

Crash Hot Potatoes
Baby Red Potatoes
Olive Oil
Salt
Pepper
Fresh chopped herbs

Cover potatoes in large pot with water and season with salt. Bring to boil and continue to boil until fork tender. Drizzle olive oil on a baking sheet. Drain potatoes and line up on baking sheet. Smash potatoes down with potato masher or bottom of a glass. Drizzle or brush with olive oil. Season generously with salt and pepper. Sprinkle with fresh herbs. Bake at 450 for 20-25 minutes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Crash Hot Potatoes

  1. Nicole says:

    I love these potatoes! However, when I made mine, I loaded them with parmesan cheese……and YUM! Delicious. Now I’m craving these. Thanks a lot!

    Also, I don’t have a potato masher. But I do have a Pampered Chef Mix & Chop. That worked wonderfully! πŸ™‚

  2. This looks so tasty! I will definitely have to try it out.

Leave a Reply

