Fire Roasted Stir Fry

DSC_0681
This recipe came to me in a dream… kinda… I was trying to take a nap and I was hungry. I couldn’t fall asleep until I could decide if I wanted to grill or have stir fry. I wanted both, and so I did!!

DSC_0655
I threw some rice in the rice cooker and loaded up a sheet pan with veggies. I cut some thick slices of red onion, a couple of cobs of corn in half, and then lined up a rainbow of bell peppers.

DSC_0657
Drizzled them all with a bit of oil and seasoned the onions and corn with salt & pepper. The peppers roast and I knew I would be peeling them so I didn’t really bother seasoning them… well except for that orange one I guess! I rubbed all the surfaces to coat lightly.

DSC_0651
Then I grabbed a pack of these little beauties out of the fridge. The kids and I sampled them at Sam’s Club this week and I had to have them for my own. Gluten free too… bonus! Plus they came in 3 vacuum packed packs of 5 so it’s super easy to use a few and freeze the rest!

DSC_0660
Next I headed out to the grill where I oiled the grates using a bit of olive oil on a folded paper towel pinched by tongs. Then I loaded it up!

DSC_0663
While that was getting all fire roasted and toasty I headed inside to mix up my stir fry sauce. I poured a bit of honey and soy sauce in a small bowl and mixed in a couple of cloves of chopped garlic.

DSC_0664
Next I grabbed about a cup of chicken stock and added enough water to make about 1 1/2 cups. I like to dilute my chicken stock so it adds a little bit of flavor and liquid but doesn’t overpower a dish… and I’m cheap 🙂

DSC_0665
I poured a little of the stock into a small bowl with some corn starch to make up a slurry.

DSC_0667
Meanwhile… back at the ranch… the veggies were all gorgeously roasted and the chicken sausage was nice and hot. Yes, this smelled amazing.

DSC_0670
OK, then I got the sauce going quickly so it would thicken while I got everything else chopped up. I heated the stock over med-high heat and added in the honey/soy/garlic mix, whisked that around.

DSC_0671
Next came the slurry and I reduced the heat to let it thicken and reduce… back to the veggies…

DSC_0668
The  blackened skin on the peppers came off with just a pinch of the tongs and then I cut round the seeds and stem and into bite sized pieces.

DSC_0672
The onions got a quick chop into quarters and my husband was sweet enough to take the corn off the cob. I sliced up the sausage and we were set to go.

DSC_0674
Conveniently enough my sauce was just then getting nice and thick. I turned off the heat and tossed in all the grilled goodies.

DSC_0677
Gave that a quick stir to coat and… VOILA!!!

DSC_0681
Grilled stir fry… fire roasted stir fry… whatever you want to call it is fine by me. Of course, you could grill all this stuff and it right off the grill but I’m a sucker for a good honey/soy glaze 🙂

You could definitely do this with chicken or steak or just all veggies!

Give this a shot!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

