Pineapple Stuffed Chicken

DSC_0393
You can never have too many stuffed chicken recipes in your arsenal! I saw a pineapple stuffed chicken dish in a magazine I was flipping through and decided I needed to try my own take on it!

Here’s how it went down…

DSC_0364
I had just cut a fresh pineapple the day before so that’s what I used. I’m sure canned would be just as good. I put a couple handfuls in a bowl.

DSC_0365
Squeezed some lemon juice over it.

DSC_0366
Added a bit of brown sugar to sweeten it a little, it was a bit tart. If you use canned you probably wouldn’t need to add sugar.

DSC_0367
Next I added in some leftover pizza blend cheese I had from the night before. I’ve never added cheese to a dish and had regrets 😉 But if it’s not your thing… leave it out. Give that a stir and set aside.

DSC_0368
Boy do I love uncooked chicken 😉 (insert sarcasm) I cut a deep pocket in each chicken breast.

DSC_0369
Stuffed it full of the pineapple cheese mixture.

DSC_0372
Then the chicken went on a foil lined baking sheet.

spice2
Next I mixed up a kitchen sink blend of spices, dried thyme, allspice, a spicy seasoning mix, brown sugar to help it caramelize, salt & pepper, gave it a stir.

DSC_0380
I drizzled the chicken with a bit of olive oil and then pressed a good amount of seasoning on each one.

DSC_0388
I baked mine for about 15 minutes at 350 and then turned the broiler on to finish them off and get them good and brown.

DSC_0395
They were super tender and juicy. They pineapple was soft and sweet and the cheese made it just a bit creamy. Delish!! I served mine with some brown rice that I squeezed the other half of lime juice on to brighten it up.

Pineapple Stuffed Chicken
4 boneless skinless chicken breasts with a deep pocket cut into
1 1/2 cups canned or fresh pineapple
1 lime
1 Tbs brown sugar, some for fresh pineapple, some for seasoning mix, both optional
salt & pepper
1 cup shredded cheese, optional
Seasoning mix – create your own mix 🙂

Heat oven to 350. Mix pineapple, juice of 1/2 lime, sugar, and cheese in bowl. Stuff each chicken breast and place on foil wrapped baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil and pack on seasoning mix. Bake at 350 for 15 minutes. Turn on broiler and finish cooking. Let chicken rest a few minutes to retain juices before serving.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pineapple Stuffed Chicken

  1. Nicole says:

    So, if we make it work to get my bag today, could you throw some of this in it please? 🙂

Leave a Reply

