Top 5 Cooking Staples – Giveaway!!

It’s been a while since I’ve done a Top 5 post and giveaways are super fun… so here we go!

Today I’m giving you MY top 5 most essential cooking ingredients. If I have at least a couple of these 5 ingredients on hand I can use just about any other group of main ingredients to make up a decent meal.

In random order…

#5 – Garlic

DSC_0355
I’ve found most people either LOVE garlic or could live without it quite happily. I LOVE it. It can add a great bite to a dish when used raw or if you roast it the natural sugars caramelize and make it into a sweet aromatic bite of wonderfulness. Plus!! It’s amazingly good for you. If you feel a cold coming on chop up a raw clove and swallow it down! I do!

I heart garlic.

#4 – Onion

DSC_0356
Onion is so versatile. It can also add bite or sweetness when caramelized. It can add crunchy texture. If you use red onions you can add great color. It’s a cheap and healthy way to add flavor and bulk to almost any dish.

#3 – Salt & Pepper

DSC_0359
Technically they are 2 ingredients but rarely do I ever use one without the other. The right amount of these two seasonings can make or break a dish. You MUST always check your seasonings when cooking. If seasoned properly there’s no need for salt and pepper at the table…

#2 – Fat

DSC_0358
Butter & olive oil are right up there on must have ingredients. Fats are cooking essentials and they are vital to a healthy diet… in moderation, of course. They are key!

#1 – Imagination

So… wasn’t sure how to take a picture of this but this is maybe the most important! Hear me out!! I know not everyone shares my unconditional love of cooking but I think that is due, in part, to lack of imagination in the kitchen. It’s easy to pass on a recipe if you don’t have all the ingredients or you don’t really care for one of the ingredients.

This is going to get deep so hold on now… How good are we at imaging better ways our family members could conduct themselves, imaging better ways the government could do things, imaging better ways fellow drivers on the road drive, imaging better ways our neighbors could contain their garbage, imagining better ways our friends could dress??

We are full of opinions and imaging ways we’d do things different/better than others. I’d like to challenge you to take that focus off of the people in your life and focus it on the food in your life πŸ™‚ Think of your favorite restaurant dishes. How would you make them differently? Think of the frozen dinners you buy. How could you make them using ingredients you have on hand? Think of what food sounds good right now. How can you make that happen in your kitchen tonight?

Use your imagination!!! OK… sermon over… πŸ™‚

Now that I’ve given you a stern talkin’ to… I will buy back your admiration with a giveaway!

Have you heard of BlueQ?? I’m a huge fan! They make insanely adorable bags out of recycled materials. They are brightly colored and just plain fun. I’m giving this one away! It’s a large tote and can be used to go to the farmer’s market, the grocery store, the pool… wherever you need to go. It’s waterproof too!

Here’s one side…

DSC_0331
How cute…

DSC_0329
and the other side… very nice…

OK, now to win you have to submit to my challenge of using your imagination. Leave a comment telling me about a recipe/dish you are going to make changing at least one characteristic/ingredient to make it your own creation. Making stir fry with red peppers instead of orange peppers for example… DOESN’T count! Get creative!!

Entries will be accepted until midnight Saturday night! Get your thinking caps on and GO COOK!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Top 5 Cooking Staples – Giveaway!!

  1. Jmtwid says:

    I am going to make potato salad, but instead of using the normal celery I am going to use red pepper. Yum!

  2. Amber says:

    Ok I have got a couple…..but here is the best πŸ™‚ Instead of jelly on my PB & J I am going to do Honey and PB!

  3. Nicole says:

    For some reason, I’m craving pizza right now. But am thinking I’d make it using an alfredo sauce instead of a red sauce. I know it isn’t new, but I haven’t made it like this before.
    Oh, and maybe you should throw in some Woodchuck in to that bag when I win it. πŸ™‚

  4. Laura says:

    for a bb-q this weekend i am going to make mac and cheese and not only make it with all g-free ingredients (for the 1st time!) but am going to add white truffle oil to my macaroni recipe for a little bit of extra flair!

  5. Haley says:

    Taco pizza – soft taco shell as the crust, re-fried beans as the sauce, taco meat, cheddar cheese, lettuce, sour cream and salsa
    Bake on a stone so the shell becomes crispy.

  6. Dacia says:

    Ok, so I just won your last giveaway so I probably shouldn’t enter but I am actually entering for my friend KG- ‘jakennicksmomma’- who is the reason I found your blog. She is away on vacation right now so I know she hasn’t seen this. She loves giveaways and enters everything so this would be for her.

    I had to check out the grocery ad to see what fish was on special this week. Each Sunday I buy a new type of fish that I have never eaten before and then cook it up however I see fit. But since I wanted to enter this contest I thought I would check out the ad and decide now what new meal I will be making. Locally grown Texas Redfish is on sale so I decided I would be making this on Sunday using my own homemade blackening seasoning (less sodium if I make it myself) which I have never tried either before but sounds yummy!

    • kitchentutor says:

      Well if it’s for jakennicksmomma I’m all for it πŸ™‚ Consider her entered! I’d love to hear more about your blackening seasoning… I love blackened… well anything!!

Leave a Reply

