Marinated Bratwurst

DSC_0346
One of my favorite summertime grilled meats is a brat.  You can get brats with cheese in them, jalapenos, apple chunks… you name it but there is still another way to easily add some great flavor to brats… marinating them!! Try this at least once and you’ll realize it’s so easy it’s kinda silly not to do it 🙂

One of my favorite friend’s husband introduced me to this technique and I’ve been using it for years.

DSC_0334
Start by slicing an onion into rings. They don’t have to be uniform, you’re not going to eat them.

DSC_0335
Put your brats in a large resealable bag. Mine were frozen… sometimes I’m unprepared like that 🙂

DSC_0336
Throw in the onion…

DSC_0337
and PLENTY of cracked black pepper!! NO SALT! Salt pulls moisture away from the meat and we want to soak moisture in this time.

DSC_0338
Next, grab a beer or two. Or, my choice, a Woodchuck. It’s a pork brat and apple goes great with pork… just my thought.

DSC_0339
Dump in as many as needed to cover the brats… feel free to sample the first swig of every opened bottle… just to make sure it’s ok for consumption… your germs will cook off when they are grilled 🙂

DSC_0340
Your bag should look something like this. If your brats were fresh pop this in a bowl and into the fridge for an hour to overnight. If they were frozen you can leave them on the counter for a bit until they are thawed.

DSC_0342
When you are ready, crank up the grill and get them a cookin’

DSC_0343
I love a little char on mine 🙂 Perfect!!

DSC_0344
My cooking motivation was low today since the kids and I had spent quite a bit of time at the pool so I went for some easy sides… Trader Joe’s GF Mac & Cheese and some strawberries! Pair it with whatever you see fit! They are juicy and tender and FULL of flavor.

Feel free to experiment a bit. Pre gluten free I would make them with Blue Moon beer and add orange slices into the bag… Y.U.M. The possibilities are endless!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Marinated Bratwurst

  1. Dacia says:

    I have never tried this method before. I usually boil them in a beer/water mixture then grill/broil to get crispy. Your method seems easier, or at least seems like less dirty dishes which is always my main concern. I hate doing dishes.

  2. Nicole says:

    Um, you had me at ‘Woodchuck’! 🙂

Leave a Reply

