Chicken Lettuce Wraps

DSC_0063
So P.F. Chang’s is amazing if you’re eating gluten free. One of my favorites is their lettuce wraps. I found a knock off recipe online and gave it a shot. I tweaked it a bit and it was pretty darn tasty…

If you wanna give it a shot… keep on scrolling 🙂

DSC_0044
Start by sauteing up a couple of chicken breasts. I cut mine into thirds because I wanted them to cook quickly. I was really hungry 😉

DSC_0037
Next, finely dice up some garlic and onion…

DSC_0038
and some waterchestnuts… these provide some great crunch with a nice mild flavor

DSC_0041
In a small bowl combine a couple of tablespoons of brown sugar… BTW I have a 2 Tablespoon measuring spoon… not sure where I got it but I found it in my drawer one day…it’s my new favorite thing…odd, I know…

DSC_0042
Add a splash of soy sauce over that…

DSC_0043
and just a touch of rice vinegar. Stir and set aside.

DSC_0046
I found some sunflower seeds in the freezer that sounded good…

DSC_0049
OK, back to the chicken… once that is done set it aside to cool a minute.

DSC_0054
Then dice it into small pieces.

DSC_0055
Add that back into the pan with a touch of oil…

DSC_0056
Next add in your onion, garlic, water chestnuts, sunflower seeds, oh, and I added in some yellow pepper. The original recipe called for mushrooms and I didn’t have any so I went with yellow pepper… really no connection there… just sounded like a good idea to me!

DSC_0058
Pour the soy sauce mix over this and stir to mix.

DSC_0062
If you have access to bib lettuce that is ideal… I had some green leaf lettuce in the fridge so that’s what we used. It was a bit… frilly??? not sure if that’s the right word… it was a bit too much lettuce but all in all it was a tasty meal and we’ll be having it again!!

Chicken Lettuce Wraps

2 boneless chicken breasts
2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
1/2 onion, finely chopped
1 can (1 cup) water chestnuts, chopped
3/4 cup of any other veggie or nut you’d like to add: bell pepper, sunflower seeds, peanuts, mushrooms
2 Tbs brown sugar
2 Tbs soy sauce
1 tsp rice vinegar

Lettuce cups or leaves

Heat a tablespoon of oil over med-high heat. Saute chicken breasts. Remove from pan to cool, dice into small pieces. Mix brown sugar, soy sauce, and vinegar in small bowl. Add a little oil back into the pan and add in chicken and veggies. Pour soy sauce mix over to blend and heat. Serve in lettuce wraps with sauce of your choice.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chicken Lettuce Wraps

  1. Dacia says:

    I like to make mine with some fresh ginger in addition to the garlic and i add a drizzle of dark sesame oil too. Yum!

    • kitchentutor says:

      You know… I kept thinking they weren’t as dark colored as P.F. Chang’s… I wonder if they do the dark sesame oil too! Thanks! I bet the ginger is good too…

Leave a Reply

