Smoky Beef Tacos

smoky beef taco
Hands down best shredded beef taco I’ve ever had… That may sound a bit prideful but I didn’t come up with the recipe so I think it’s fair for me to say. I found this recipe in an issue of Everyday Food magazine. The beef was spicy, smoky, juicy, and literally fell apart. I could have just eaten it right out of the pot and fed my family mac & cheese but we had dinner guests so I went ahead with the rest of the meal.

Here’s how you’re going to make yours… and you will…

DSC_3126
Start by chopping up a couple of tablespoons of chipotles that come in a can with adobo sauce. This is the first time I’ve used these… won’t be the last!! Drop them into a dutch oven or other oven safe pot with a tight fitting lid.

DSC_3127
Next comes 1/2 cup of ketchup…

DSC_3128
1 cup of water…

DSC_3129
8 chopped cloves of garlic… yes, 8… you can handle it…

DSC_3130
2 teaspoons dried oregano…

DSC_3131
2 teaspoons salt…

DSC_3132
1/4 teaspoon cracked black pepper. Give this all a good stir.

DSC_3133
The recipe called for a chuck roast but I had an arm roast in the freezer so that’s what I used… I know there are differences and some will probably insist on one roast over the other but not me folks. It’s a hunk of red meat… Cut that hunk of meat into 4 pieces.

DSC_3134
Roll each piece around in the sauce to cover it. Pop the lid on and throw it into the oven. You can cook it at 350 for a couple of hours or if you’re like me and you’re going to be gone for about 5 hours turn your oven to 275 and let it slow cook.

DSC_3136
Either way it will look something like this. I had already taken one hunk of meat out for those of you wondering… Transfer the beef to a plate. Pour the sauce through a fat separator  or skim off the fat. If you want it really spicy return the chipotle pieces back into the sauce, if not, skim those out too. I skimmed mine out and it still had a bit of spice… FYI…

DSC_3153
Shred the beef with 2 forks or I let the beef cool and then just pulled it apart with my fingers… you’re choice. Return it to the pan with the sauce.

DSC_3154
Give it a good stir…

DSC_3155
Ridiculous amount of flavor in here… I cooked my meat in the morning so I just popped it in the fridge until 10 minutes before dinner and then reheated it. You can do that if you’re not serving it right away.

smoky beef taco
I warmed up some corn tortillas and did a quick saute of red and green peppers and onions. I added a bit of sour cream laced with lime juice to mine and a bit of shredded cheese (not pictured) I ate 3… loaded so high I could barely close the tortilla… soo sooo tasty!! I made quesadillas with the beef the next day for lunch… also amazing!!

Try these soon… you’ll thank me!!

Smoky Beef Tacos
2 to 3 Tbs chopped canned chipotle chiles in adobo sauce
1/2 cup ketchup
8 garlic cloves, chopped
2 teaspoons dried oregano
2 teaspoons salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 roast (about 3lbs)

Preheat oven to 350 for 2 1/2 hours or 275 for 4-5 hours. in an oven safe pot with a lid or dutch oven stir together chiles, ketchup, 1 cup water, garlic, oregano, salt, & pepper. Cut beef into 4 equal pieces. Add to pot and turn to coat in sauce. Cover and transfer to oven. Bake until fork tender.

Transfer beef to plate. Remove fat from sauce. Shred beef and return to sauce. Season with salt and pepper if needed. Serve with warm tortillas and toppings of your choice.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Smoky Beef Tacos

  1. Dacia says:

    That looks super yummy! I love using chipotle in adobo and chipotle chili powder; both bring that smokey, spicyness I love. Can’t wait to try this recipe out with some fresh tortillas. I like to top my tacos with some cilatro and onion and call it a day! Yum!

  2. You have a really great cooking blog, thanks so much for sharing your recipes! -Gem

    • kitchentutor says:

      Thank you!! I love cooking and I’ve discovered I like blogging so it’s been a lot of fun! Plus I get to meet new blog friends!! Thanks again for checking out the blog 😉

  3. Pingback: Smoky Beef Quesadillas | The Kitchen Tutor

  4. Pingback: Mexican Snowballs | The Kitchen Tutor

  5. Pingback: Onion & Pepper Saute | The Kitchen Tutor

  6. Pingback: Smoky Beef Quesadillas

  7. Pingback: Mexican Snowballs

Leave a Reply

