Grilled Honey Soy Glazed Chicken w/ Vegetables

DSC_3120
This simple meal knocked my socks off… Of course, I wasn’t wearing socks thanks to the heat finally turning on in Iowa!!! Woohoo!! Anyway… This is a super slick chicken recipe that will be a go to in my book. It’s really too easy for you not to try…

DSC_3084
Throw some green bell pepper in a bowl…

DSC_3085
Add in some red bell pepper… or if you have yellow or orange that’s cool too…

DSC_3086
and then some amazingly pretty red onion…

DSC_3088
Drizzle on some olive oil.

DSC_3089
Sprinkle with salt… yeah, I know I didn’t really capture that with this picture… use your imagination 🙂

DSC_3093
some cracked pepper…

DSC_3094
and a couple cloves of sliced garlic. Give that a stir and then get to work on the chicken.

DSC_3095
I used 4 chicken breasts but you could sure do this with 2… or 1… or a dozen if you needed to.

DSC_3097
In a small bowl mix together 2 parts honey to 1 part soy sauce and throw in some minced ginger. BTW… don’t be jealous of my sweet countertop pattern…

DSC_3102
Heat up your grill pan or even better a real grill!!!! I was planning on doing mine on the grill but then realized we were out of propane… shoot!! But this ended up better in the end… I’ll show you why in a bit. OK, get the chicken going…

DSC_3107
Let them get a good sear on them and then turn. After the first turn start brushing on the honey soy glaze.

DSC_3109
They sugar in the honey will start to caramelize against the grill pan. Caramelize = yum

DSC_3112
Look at that bubbly yummy goodness… OK focus!! Turn the chicken a couple times and continue to glaze until it is almost done.

DSC_3113
Here’s where  it ended up just fine that I had to use the grill pan. I dumped my veggies onto the pan during the last couple of minutes the chicken needed to cook.

DSC_3114
I dumped them right into the middle of the pan.

DSC_3116
Gave them a toss around to get them all situated…

DSC_3118
Then I realized the glaze on the pan would taste amazing on the veggies so I moved the chicken to the middle of the pan and tossed the veggies around in the bubbly glaze. Next I took the chicken off to rest and covered them with foil so they would retain their delicious juice.

DSC_3120
I had brown rice going in my rice cooker so I put some of that down under the veggies. The chicken was super tender and flavorful and the glaze added a little something extra to the veggies as well. When I make this again I plan on having some fresh pineapple around. I think it would be delicious thrown in with the veggies last minute… Mmmmm!

Super easy meal and all on one pan, well…except for the rice… but you know what I mean!! Give it a try!!

Grilled Honey Soy Glazed Chicken w/ Vegetables

2 bell peppers, any color
1 medium red onion
2 cloves garlic, sliced
olive oil
salt
pepper
2 Tbs honey
1 Tbs soy sauce
1 tsp minced ginger
4 chicken breasts

Chop peppers and onion into large bite sized pieces. Place in large bowl with garlic, drizzle with olive oil. Season with salt and pepper. Toss to coat and set aside. In small bowl mix honey, soy sauce and ginger. Season with salt and pepper. Heat grill pan or grill. Oil grill grates/pan. Season chicken with salt and pepper. Place chicken on grill until well seared on one side. Turn chicken and brush with glaze. Turn chicken a couple more times and continue to glaze. When done transfer to a plate and tent with foil to let the chicken rest.

Grill or stir fry vegetables. Serve with chicken and brown rice.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Grilled Honey Soy Glazed Chicken w/ Vegetables

  1. Callie says:

    Yummm! Looks so good right NOW! I need to get a grill pan too. Why do I not have one?

  2. Dacia says:

    Looks fantastic and it seemed pretty easy. That’s a great combination in my book!

  3. Pingback: Chicken Salad – New & Light | The Kitchen Tutor

  4. Pingback: For Dinner Tonight… | The Kitchen Tutor

  5. Pingback: Chicken Salad – New & Light

Leave a Reply

