Healthy Sloppy Joes

DSC_0031
Sloppy Joes are delicious and fun to eat. Even more when you can eat them on a big soft airy doughy bun but I’m not bitter… much. Sure, you can buy a can of sloppy joe mix and dump in over your hamburger and call it good but is it really good??? Here’s my version of the classic… still super yummy and fun but good for you at the same time… Here we go!!!

DSC_0010
Start with a pound of lean hamburger. I like to do mine in a dutch oven so I can cover it and let it hang out on the stove for a while.

DSC_0011
This is one of those meals that’s good when you have some veggies that are needing to be used up. I had a couple of bell peppers that were at the end of being good so I chopped them up and threw them in… also, season your meat with salt and pepper…

DSC_0012
Next, you can toss in some finely chopped celery… or not… either way…

DSC_0013
Next, chop up some onion. Any onion is fine…

DSC_0014
Then throw in a couple of finely chopped cloves of garlic.

DSC_0015
Give it all a stir and let it brown.

DSC_0016
Next I added carrot mash from our juicer but you could finely grate some carrot if you wanted to.

DSC_0018
Now for the super high tech seasoning… I did some ketchup and dijon mustard. I’m still out of yellow mustard or I would have used that here.

DSC_0019
I also poured in some honey to bring that sweet taste.

DSC_0022
and dumped in about a tablespoon of ground flax.

DSC_0023
Stir that all around and give it a taste. You may want more ketchup or mustard, salt or pepper. You’ll also want to add some water to keep it from getting too thick.

DSC_0024
and there you have it. Saucy, tasty and nutritious… all in one pot 😉 Give it a try!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Healthy Sloppy Joes

  1. Callie says:

    Mmmm… looks really good. Even better on a good bun, but ya know.

  2. Amber says:

    Laura I do the same with my sloppy joes, but I add some brown sugar to it! Gives it a sweet taste…yummy you have to try it 🙂

Leave a Reply

