Potato Salad

DSC_2681
Potato salad is a must for summer. It goes great with anything grilled and you can make it ahead of time. You can make a little or a lot. It’s also very easy… if you do it my way, of course 🙂

DSC_2657
I wanted to make enough to serve about a dozen folks, half of them were kids.  I used about 3 pounds of potatoes. I used russets but I really like to use baby red potatoes and leave the skin on too. You can make it with whatever potato you prefer.

DSC_2658
Any potato but baby reds I peel and then dice into 1 inch pieces. No need to be real picky here. You want them slightly larger than bite size because when they are soft and get tossed with all the other fixins they will lose a bit of their size.

DSC_2659
Throw all those into a large pot.

DSC_2660
I don’t like washing dishes so I do my eggs and potatoes in one pot. If this makes you nervous you can sure do them separately.

DSC_2661
Cover everything with water and give it a good amount of salt and get it on the stove at a rolling boil.

DSC_2655
While that is all happening… grab some celery…

DSC_2656
Dice it into a nice size…

DSC_2663
Grab some onion. I prefer red because of the color they add. You could do white, even scallions are fine.

DSC_2664
I cut my onion in half and then cut each half into thirds like this. Then I slice them thinly…

DSC_2665
to get these fan shapes…

DSC_2666
I use my fingers to separate them and set them aside.

DSC_2667
Next finely dice up a couple of cloves of garlic.

DSC_2669
By now your water should be at a rolling boil.  I like to let it boil for about 8 minutes and then start to check the potatoes. If they are just done but not too soft they are read. You aren’t making mashed potatoes. You will be tossing them with other ingredients so you want them to be a little firm.

DSC_2670
Using a slotted spoon remove the eggs into a bowl and drain the potatoes in a colander.

DSC_2672
Place the bowl of eggs under running cold water until the water in the bowl stays cool.

DSC_2673
Throw your potatoes and all your chopped veggies into a large bowl. Season generously with salt and pepper.

DSC_2676
You want to start dressing this while your potatoes are hot so they absorb the flavors. Here’s where it get’s personal. Everybody has their own opinion on the best potato salad dressing. I prefer a mix of dijon mustard, mayo, and yellow mustard. I was fresh out of yellow mustard… how does that happen?? So… I just did dijon and mayo and added yellow mustard later at the party after I had gotten some at the store. You can do things like that 🙂

DSC_2678
Next your eggs should be cool enough to peel. Get all the bits of shell off and then give them a rough chop and into the mix they go. You’ll probably need to add a bit more “sauce”.

DSC_2679
Check the seasonings to see if you need more salt, pepper, mayo, mustard, dijon, or maybe some other secret ingredient you like in you potato salad.

See… that was pretty easy! Cold potato salad is pretty darn good but if you do make this grab a bowl while everything is still warm… you’ll be a big fan… trust me 🙂

Now, bring on summer!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

