Cutting a Watermelon

DSC_2569
I.love.watermelon

I once ate an entire watermelon by myself in one sitting. Not a good idea, by the way…

Anyway, watermelon can be frustrating to cut so I thought I’d show you how I do it…

DSC_2553
Start with a watermelon. Ha! Lay it on it’s side and look for the ‘bottom’ or the side it was most likely laying on the ground. The most flat side. On this melon it was on the top right.

DSC_2554
Stand your watermelon on end…

DSC_2555
and slice off a section of the flat end. This is going to give your watermelon a more stable base so that when you are slicing it you’re not worried about it rolling or sliding around.

DSC_2556
Now you can set your watermelon down on the cut edge and it’s not going anywhere.

DSC_2557
Next I slice off the end piece…

DSC_2558
and continue down the melon making thick slices and stacking them up.

DSC_2559
until I’m left with a stack of slices like this…

DSC_2561
Next I take the tip of my knife and run it along the inside of the rind starting at the cut edge I made at the beginning.

DSC_2562
Then you can simply pull the rind off and away from the fruit.

DSC_2563
BAM!! Steak ‘O Watermelon!

DSC_2566
Now you can slice it dice it or just pick up the whole thing and eat it. If you want to leave the rind still attached for people to pick up and eat just cut it into triangles after you are done slicing it. See… it’s not so bad… go buy a watermelon 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

