Beef & Green Veg Stir Fry

DSC_2571
Catchy name, huh? I wanted to call it Beef w/sugar snap peas, asparagus, and scallions but that seemed to be a bit much and since they are all green… it worked. Once you get past the name you’ll be happy with the taste 🙂 I realized I hadn’t done a beef stir fry yet and I had a steak in the fridge so it all worked out. Here’s how it happened…

DSC_2512
I started with some scallions… about this many 😉

DSC_2513
I chopped them into thirds. I sliced some of the thicker white parts in half so they’d cook evenly

DSC_2515
I dumped some sugar snap peas into a bowl.

DSC_2517
I cut some asparagus into thirds and sliced the lower stem pieces in half.

DSC_2523
Then I put about a cup of water into a bowl and added a couple of tablespoons of honey. Now here’s the deal. I totally should have used beef stock/broth here instead of water. It tasted OK but the beef stock would have totally brought out the beef flavor here. If you make this use beef stock… do as I say, not as I do!!

DSC_2525
I also added in about a tablespoon of soy sauce…

DSC_2526
and a couple of tablespoons of rice vinegar…

DSC_2527
then a heaping tablespoon of cornstarch…

DSC_2529
and some red pepper flakes to spice things up a bit.

DSC_2530
I also added salt, pepper, and about a 1/2 teaspoon of grated ginger. Yes, I finally remembered to buy some 😉 I whisked this all together and set aside.

DSC_2531
Next I heated up a couple of tablespoons of oil in a pan and got to work trimming the fat off my steak…

DSC_2532
Next I sliced it thinly. I used a cheaper cut of steak but feel free to use whatever you like.

DSC_2538
Once the oil was hot I cooked the beef in 2 batches. All of it in the pan at once would have been too crowded. Since the meat is so thin it cooks in about 1 or 2 minutes on each side.

DSC_2537
Give them one turn and they should be done.

DSC_2540
Next I set the beef aside…

DSC_2541
I added just a little drizzle of oil into the pan and then the asparagus, the white part of the scallions and about 4 cloves of garlic. I kept them moving in the pan for a couple of minutes.

DSC_2544
Once they had a good start to them I gave the sauce another quick whisk and poured it in the pan.

DSC_2546
Next came the scallion greens and peas

DSC_2549
Along with the beef. I gave it all a good toss and made sure the sauce had thickened.

DSC_2570
Then I plated it up with a nice pile of brown rice underneath and called it good. This was really good. My kids inhaled the steak. I’m definitely making this again, you should try it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

