Black Bean Burger

DSC_2474
This was a first at our house. I’ve secretly wanted to try a meatless burger for a while and finally got around to it. I know I have a few vegetarian readers out there so please leave some comments on how you make these and any tips you have. This is how my attempt went.

Oh, and I made a carrot salad/slaw to go with it…

DSC_2433
For the carrot slaw I took 5 smaller carrots

DSC_2435
shredded them up…

DSC_2437
Then I used my handy dandy ream (love this thing) to get about 2 tablespoons of lemon juice to add to the carrots

DSC_2438
I also drizzled on a little bit of olive oil…

DSC_2442
I grabbed 4 scallions/green onions. 1/2 went to the carrots, 1/2 to the burgers…

DSC_2443
Sliced them  up thinly…

DSC_2445
Seasoned it with salt and pepper

DSC_2446
Gave it a good toss and it was done.

DSC_2447
Now on to the burgers… I saw a recipe that called for canned lentils but I didn’t have any of those so I went with black beans…

DSC_2452
I gave them a good rinse and set them up to dry for an hour or so…

DSC_2455
When most of the moisture had dripped off I added a couple of slices of GF bread to the bottom of my Ninja, you could do this in a food processor too. If you are using regular bread I would only use one slice. GF bread is freakishly smaller than regular bread. I guess the manufacturers believe GF folks are all tiny with small appetites 😉

Anyway… obliterate the bread into small bits…

DSC_2458
Then add in your black beans, lentils… or whatever bean/legume you choose to use…

DSC_2459
Next comes an egg…

DSC_2460
Then some salt and pepper…

DSC_2461
and the rest of your scallions. I also added about a tablespoon of ground flax.

DSC_2463
Then I obliterated that… I wish I had not pureed it so much. I think it would have been better to have some chunks of bean in there for texture. I guess I kinds underestimated the power of the Ninja 🙂

DSC_2464
I then dumped the mix out on a plate to divide it into 4 parts. Meanwhile I heated a couple of tablespoons of olive oil up in a pan. I didn’t form the patties until the oil was hot and I could drop them right into the pan.

DSC_2467
Here’s what they looked like… pretty much like a burger… I cooked them for about 5 minutes on each side.

DSC_2469
Here’s what the done side looked like… not too bad

DSC_2474
I served mine with chips and carrot salad. I dropped on a dollop of greek yogurt and a few extra scallions… not too shabby! The flavor was great but I’d love to know how anyone else makes these for future modifications.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

