Simple Healthy Goulash

DSC_2338
Goulash has been a quick go to meal at our house for years. It used to be a pound of ground beef and a can of spaghetti sauce. Over the years it has transformed into this… a much more healthy but just as easy quick meal.

DSC_2302
While I’m waiting for my pan to heat up on the stove I chop up about 1/2 of an onion. Red, white, yellow… really doesn’t matter to me…

DSC_2305
Then I do a quick dice of garlic. This was about 4 cloves… garlic is SOOOO good for you!! Google it 😉

DSC_2309
Here’s another thing I add… to the untrained eye it may look like orange sherbet… it’s mash leftover from our juicer. This is everything left of a carrot after the juice has been removed from it! If you’re not a juice just finely grate a carrot and you’ll be up to speed. I’ve also finely… FINELY chopped broccoli and used it in this too… undetected!!

DSC_2310
Once again… here I am with the flax. Rose and Art Behren’s organically grow this amazing dark flax right here in the heartland. I plan to tell you more about them soon. I usually get the whole seeds and grind them as I use them… which preserves their nutritional value but today I grabbed a bag of ground. Flax contains oils and therefore should be kept in the freezer or fridge when you’re not using it.

DSC_2313
So… now that you’re pan is hot throw in your beef, sausage, ground turkey, ground chicken… whatever. Season with salt and pepper.

DSC_2314
Drop in your diced onion and garlic. If you grated a raw carrot you’ll want to add this now to and give it time in the pan to soften.

DSC_2315
Keep that moving around the pan…

DSC_2316
This is when I added my frozen mash…

DSC_2317
Once it was softened I added the can of sauce. Yes, I still use canned sauce when I need a quick meal.

DSC_2318
Finally… about a Tablespoon of ground flax. In its ground state it’s virtually undetectable…

DSC_2321
Give it a stir before anyone sees you…

DSC_2326
Next comes the pasta. I am so thankful for Trader Joe’s organic brown rice pasta. They have 3 varieties and each is only about 2 bucks for a 1 pound bag. Deal! They have penne

DSC_2324
spaghetti…

DSC_2325
and fusilli, which is what I used in this meal.

DSC_2329
Once the past is ready, drain it and dump the sauce on top of it. Take it off of heat to keep the noodles from continuing to cook.

DSC_2331
If you’re a little person in our house your plate will look like this. With a side of cucumber sticks and do it yourself cheese sprinkles (parmesan) you’re set!

DSC_2336
For the big kids I finely chop a handful of fresh baby spinach and toss it together with a dash of cheese sprinkles to pull it all together. Sorry… you use that term enough times and it becomes the “normal” way to say it 🙂

DSC_2339
This is quick, easy, and comforting…. and healthy!!! Try it!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

