Chocolate Chip Cookies


Happy Monday… I’m probably eating one of these right at this moment… Winning!!

OK seriously though… who can resist a good fresh baked chocolate chip cookie?? I love them but have struggled to find a good recipe for them gluten free. I made some amazing cookies about a month ago, making it up as I went along and didn’t write down the recipe… I forgot what I put in them. I regret it to this day. Then I made these… now I’m over it!

You wouldn’t have to make these gluten free. I’ll give you some tips on adjusting the recipe as needed below. What are we waiting for?? Let’s make cookies!!!


All good cookies start with butter… just sayin’ I used 1 stick of unsalted… room temp.


That went into the mixing bowl with some brown sugar


and raw honey…


and 2 farm fresh eggs… aren’t they adorable?


No, this picture isn’t bad… the farm egg yolks are quite a bit more orangish…


Next came some salt… Hey look I’m measuring something!!!


and a splash of vanilla… I got tired of measuring already…


I wanted to use more oats but I only had about 1/2 cup left and we were far too gone in the cookie making process to let that slow us down!!!


Then came the flour…


I like to use a lot of flour so the dough is good and stiff. Mine stuck to the beater like cement.


Finally the chocolate chips… I use semi-sweet… you can use whatever you please


That looks like a lot of chocolate chips doesn’t it? No, not really 🙂 Notice my handy dandy notebook off to the side so I could write down the recipe… notice my terrible handwriting which almost makes it ridiculous for me to write anything down. I can’t even read it.


Anyway… after everything was blended together I spooned them as small as possible onto a parchment lined baking sheet. The key to irresistible cookies is making them as small as possible but still big enough to only eat one at a time. If they are big one can be enough. But when they are tiny… you can eat 47 and they only count as 2. That’s the way it works in my head…


I took them out of the oven just as the edges were getting golden and the tops looked mostly dry. I let them sit on the baking sheet for another 5 minutes to finish cooking and cool a bit.


Then on to the cooling racks… Oh goodness… aren’t they amazing…


Oh shoot!! Someone mysteriously took a bite out of this one… well since I’m here with the camera I’ll just show you what they look like on the inside… Yeah… I have a feeling you might make these 🙂

Chocolate Chip Cookies
1 stick unsalted butter
1 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup honey
2 eggs
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder (if you are using regular flour or your GF flour doesn’t already contain it)
1 cup oatmeal
2 cups flour (this can be adjusted. I used a little more because I was short on oatmeal)
1 bag chocolate chips

Mix in order listed and bake at 350 until just done. Cool and inhale 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Callie says:

    This is not helping in my healthy efforts!

  2. Tracy says:

    Those look amazing……

Leave a Reply

