Granola Bars


Granola bars are so great to have around. They make an easy breakfast or a quick snack on the run. If you buy them at the store you’ll probably have a hard time finding any without a load of unhealthy ingredients for a price you want to pay. So… make your own!! The other benefit is being able to customize them to exactly what you want.

I was inspired by my good friend Ashley’s granola bar recipe which you can find HERE! She’s got a great blog. She’s probably the healthiest person I know and can give you great ideas for natural and organic alternatives to just about anything!!


Speaking of healthy… it starts with melting a stick of butter… Ha! By the way, I love my little butter melter pan. It’s great for melting butter for popcorn or heating up just a cup of sauce or milk or anything liquid. If you see one in the store for a good deal, grab it, you won’t regret it!


While that is melting get out a large bowl and dump around 3 cups of oatmeal. I used Bob’s Red Mill GF oats. Ashley swears by using mostly steel cut oats but I have been unsuccessful in finding GF steel cut oats. Holler if you know of any…


Next came about 1/3 cup ground flax seed


Then I dropped in a handful of raw sunflower seeds and sesame seeds…


Next came almost a cup of brown sugar…


After that came a teaspoon or so of vanilla. You can tell I carefully measured it 🙂


Mmmmm… honey… I dumped in about 1/2 a cup


Next came a good sized blob of peanut butter and about a tsp of salt. I love salt to balance out all the sweetness. I’m a big fan of salt but you wouldn’t have to add this.


Ahhhh…. butter… It kinda looks like a volcano of melted butter. Love it! This will melt your peanut butter and help everything mix well.


Give that a good stir and add in anything else you may want… almonds, raisins, dried cranberries… really anything you want.


We did chocolate chips… cause we’re healthy like that 🙂 Also, we didn’t have any dried fruit around!! Don’t judge me!!


Then I had my small assistant chef stir it all together.


I put these on a baking sheet covered with parchment. I think my pan was too big because as I spread it around they looked a bit thin so I just smashed them to one side. Next time I think I’ll use a smaller pan and just have thicker bars.


Anyway… they spent about 25 minutes in the oven at 350… I took them out and set the pan on a cooling rack so they could cool.


When the top was pretty well cooled and dried I took another sheet of parchment and flipped them out on their top to let the bottom dry out so it wouldn’t be all goey on the bottom.


Then I flipped them back over and cut them with a pizza cutter…


Pretty darn easy and so much cheaper than what I’d pay at the grocery store. You gotta try these!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

