Pancake Pen


This is not so much of a recipe as a product review. Pancakes are a favorite at our house. I used to avoid them because of the mess of the dripping batter everywhere. Then I discovered this little beauty. It’s made by Williams-Sonoma and it’s called a Pancake Pen. Click here to see it on their site. It sells for $9.95 and at that price you can’t NOT buy one 🙂


I can’t really claim the recipe I use to make pancakes. It’s printed on the back of our favorite pancake mix. Pamela’s Baking & Pancake Mix. I get mine on Amazon.com. I use this as my primary baking flour as well. It’s amazing and doesn’t have that Xanthan gum stickyness to it. If you haven’t tried it and are GF… try it! Anyway… you need oil, eggs, and water for the mix.


The Pancake Pen’s instructions say you can mix up the pancakes right in the pen but I like to whisk mine so I start them in a bowl. After this shot I added food coloring to mine because I wanted to make them fun for the kids…


which is why this batter looks blue… it is 🙂 You just turn the Pancake Pen on it’s top and fill it with batter and screw on the bottom.


Now you’re set to make simple mess free pancakes! You can do the regular old circle shapes…


or attempt to make a princess and super hero… it takes some practice…


but the results are fun and keep the conversation at the table going 🙂 To be sure you use up most of your batter put the lid on the Pen and turn it on it’s top after each batch.


Look at these… they are light and fluffy and not chewy and weird like other GF pancakes we’ve tried. If you haven’t tried the mix or the Pancake Pen why not be crazy and try both!!

I also use the Pancake Pen when I make cupcakes. You don’t have to worry about the mess of dripping batter all over your pan and counter. Super slick!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pancake Pen

  1. paige says:

    does the pamela’s mix contain corn?

    • kitchentutor says:

      Pamela’s baking & pancake mix contains: brown rice flour, white rice flour, cultured buttermilk, natural almond meal, tapioca starch, sweet rice flour, potato starch, grainless & aluminum free baking powder, baking soda, sea salt, xanthan gum.

      I recently heart xanthan gum is made from corn so I guess it technically does but I don’t think there is much xanthan gum in it because it doesn’t have that gritty sticky feel when you chew it.

Leave a Reply

