Easy Meatballs


Mmmmmmmmm….. Meatballs. Who doesn’t love meatballs?!?! With spaghetti… swedish meatballs… BBQ meatballs… meatball sandwiches… Meatballs are pretty versatile! Here’s a simple meatball recipe you can use to make basic meatballs you could use for any of the above mentioned dishes.


Things are going to look a little different today. I was at my Mom’s house back in small town America. Her kitchen has AMAZING windows which equals AMAZING lighting!! Loved it! Anyway… I used a pound each of ground beef and ground turkey. You could use all of one or trade in some sausage or ground pork. Don’t get hung up on the details people!


I threw in about 2 Tbs ground dark flax-seed. This is a healthy alternative to bread crumbs. Also keeps it gluten-free. Gotta love flax!


Next came the egg… that’s right folks, the egg did not come first πŸ˜‰


And then about 1/2 of a good sized onion diced up very fine.


Next came the seasoning brigade… This changes every time I make it. I used garlic salt because I forgot to grab some fresh. I used ground black pepper, parsley, and some dried tomato pesto mix I found in Mom’s cupboard. I would have done some oregano and thyme but couldn’t find any. You could do nutmeg here if you were making Swedish Meatballs, maybe some Allspice…


Now… bear with me here. I also forgot my plain greek yogurt so I dug into Mom’s fridge to find some cottage cheese. I just wanted some moisture and good tangy flavor so this worked. They’re just meatballs!!


Next I mixed it all together with my hands. This is the therapeutic part, you gotta use your hands!!


I covered a baking sheet with foil and turned the oven on to 350. I rolled about enough meat mixture to make a meatball the size of a chocolate truffle or so. Not too big, not too small. You are the master of your own destiny when it comes to the size of these things. This is the beauty of this recipe. You aren’t baby sitting these things in a skillet using extra grease trying to keep them round. You just bake them while you sip iced tea and watch the snow fall. Well, that’s what I did πŸ™‚


Then they went into the oven for about 20 minutes. If you make larger meatballs be sure to let them cook just a bit longer. Take them off this pan and all the grease and transfer them to your pasta sauce or whatever adventure you have for them next. You could also place them on parchment on another baking sheet and freeze them individually for later use. Or you could just grab a toothpick and start eating them…


Mine found their way into a red sauce and nestled inside a pile of gluten-free spaghetti… they felt right at home πŸ™‚ These are sooo easy!!! You gotta try them!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easy Meatballs

  1. MMMM, your meatballs look delicious! I am pretty excited I stumbled across your blog, because I was in need of a gluten free meatball recipe. You take really nice pictures by the way!

    -Katie =)

Leave a Reply

