My Favorite Gluten-free Products

Our household is about 90% gluten-free. I eliminated wheat products from my diet about 2 years ago. My family eats the occasional wheat product by all of our family meals are prepared gluten-free. Going gluten-free isn’t easy but thanks to an array of delicious gluten-free products on the market it isn’t hard either.

Below is a list of some of our favorite gluten-free products. Also, I’m adding on where I’ve found them at the best price. I’m only listing products that aren’t “normally” gluten-free. You won’t see my favorite gluten free yogurt on here because… yogurt doesn’t normally have wheat products in it… got it? Good!

Breakfast products:
Trader Joe’s Wheat Free Toaster Waffles $1.99 (in store) – These taste great and are a quick an easy option.

Rudi’s GF Cinnamon Raisin bread $4.90 (Azure Standard) – This bread is great toasted

Bob’s Red Mill GF Oats $21 for 4 32oz bags (Amazon) – Nothing too special here, just good oatmeal for breakfast or other baking/cooking

Pamela’s Baking and Pancake Mix $40 for 3 4lb bags (Amazon) – Hands down our favorite pancake mix. I haven’t tried the new Bisquick GF mix but I’m guessing it’s not bad! I also use this flour for any GF cookies or breads I make. I use the same amount or a tad more flour and leave out any baking soda or powder because there is already some in there. There are great recipes on the bag too…

General stuff:
Food for Life Brown Rice Tortillas $2.15 for 12 (Azure Standard) – These make great thin crust pizzas and quesadilla. I’ve also brushed them with a little olive oil and sprinkled with cinnamon sugar for a dessert treat. They don’t do the best rolled up for a wrap or burritos.

Crunchmaster multi-grain crackers $7.48 for 2 bags, over 270 crackers (Sam’s Club) – these are the best, reasonably priced GF crackers I’ve found. They are tasty and can hold their ground with chicken salad, guacamole, or just sliced cheese.

Trader Joe’s GF Mac & Cheese – $1.99/box (in store) – This stuff is soo good! It’s worth the price for a easy alternative now and then. My whole family likes it. The one drawback is it doesn’t make enough!!

Brown rice pasta – I will use 2 brands, Trader Joe’s or Tinkyada. Trader Joe’s is cheaper but Tinkyada is definitely better quality. Also, Tinkyada has a lasagna noodle.

Against the Grain baguette $5+ (Wheatsfield Coop. if anyone has seen these anywhere else, let me know!) – you get 2 good sized baguette. They are great for French dips and other hot sandwiches. You can use the bread for making stuffing too. Good stuff!

Chebe Bread Mixes $2.75 (Fareway) – they have several different bread mixes. I used the multi-purpose (yellow bag) for breadsticks and they are amazing! I’ve heard they make decent cinnamon rolls too… worth a try!

Whole Foods Pizza Crust $7.99?? for 2 crusts (in store) – I haven’t found a pizza crust mix I really care for and these pre made crusts are the best thick crusts I’ve had. They are pricey but if you’re craving thick crust pizza give them a shot.

Betty Crocker Cake and Brownie Mixes $3.75 or so (Fareway) – These are definitely pricey but to me they are the most cakelike when it comes to gluten free. I’ve had some other brands but if I really want to feel like I’m eating real cake… I go for one of these.

I know there are more I’m forgetting but this should give you hopefully a couple new things to try! PLEASE let me know of any great GF products you know of or if you’d like me to post on a recipe you’d like to see done GF!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Favorite Gluten-free Products

  1. I would concur (is that how you spell that?) about the tortillas. I dream about them…I think it’s the texture. They are crispy when cooked but still chewy. MMMMMmmmmmm. but yes – not great when trying to wrap something.

    • kitchentutor says:

      I corrected the spelling just for you 🙂 That was the first post I had forgot to hit spell check on… I’m surprised that I didn’t have more than a handful of mistakes!!

  2. Caitlin says:

    I saw you used the fareway lasagna noodles a few posts ago. Did you not eat it since it wasn’t GF? Also, I made lasagna last week for the first time and used their no-boil noodles and it worked awesome! So you could skip that step next time. 🙂

    • kitchentutor says:

      I did 2 pans and one was with GF noodles. The one I took pictures of were regular Fareway noodles. I have used the no boil noodles in the past but I’m a sucker for the old style noodles. I don’t boil the GF noodles so I kinda enjoy using the old school method for the regular lasagna… I’m odd like that 🙂

Leave a Reply

