Max Story 3 Cake


I’m not a baker but today I think I may have been for just a few hours…

My son is turning 3 next week and he LOVES Toy Story… Buzz… Woody… Rex… Jessie… the whole gang so I decided to do a Toy Story cake. I was staring at the logo and decided since he was 3 and he has 3 letters in his name I could just throw his name in the logo… off I went! Here’s how it came together…

By the way… I totally recommend making your kids’ and families birthday and holiday cakes. It is a whole lot cheaper and really kinda fun!! Even if they aren’t perfect they are made with love… ok I’ll stop…


I started by making two 9 by 13 inch cakes. I used a box mix cause that’s how I roll…


Here’s some hard evidence that I’m not a baker… look at these air pockets!! Guess I should have tapped the pan on the counter to get the air bubbles out… maybe next time πŸ™‚


I cut a piece of cardboard just bigger than my cake and covered it with parchment paper. Nothing fancy but it got the job done… Then I put the cake on there. I carved a bit of the curved part of the cake off so the layers would stack nicely… saw this on TV…


Next I globbed on a bunch of frosting. I learned that when you are working on the surface of the cake that has been carved it can be pretty crumby so I used a lot of frosting and plopped it down about where I wanted it so I didn’t have to spread it much.


I kept in mind that no one would really see this layer again so no need to be super careful!


Next I threw on some sprinkles cause… why not??


Next I plopped the 2nd cake down upside down so i had a better surface to frost. When I was turning it over it kinda cracked on me but it will have to do!


Then I covered it in sky blue frosting… If only it was as easy as the change from the last picture to this one appears… this part took me quite a while and was not my favorte… but I persevered!!


I whipped up some royal icing and outlined the box that would house the word “STORY”.


Next I flooded the outline with royal icing. This is only the 2nd time I’d used royal icing… the first was yesterday πŸ™‚


I had tried out the royal icing on these sugar cookies I used to spell out MAX and the number 3. I put some royal icing on the bottom of the cookies and pressed them on…


So far… so good!


Next I used white royal icing outline to make the clouds on the sides…


Then a couple on the top…


Finally… after staring at the cake for about 20 minutes to get myself psyched up… I added yellow flood icing to write the word “STORY”. It was by far the most tedious of all the decorations. I spread the icing around with the small tip of a toothpick.


There you have it!! He had just woke up from his nap to find his birthday cake!! He was pretty excited!! I think it took me about 3 hours but it was well worth his reaction πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Max Story 3 Cake

  1. Stacey says:

    Laura! This is AWESOME!!!! you did such a great job! What a lucky little boy!

    So… I’m turning 30 this year… think “Stacey Story 30” has the same ring?

  2. wendy says:

    HOw do you do it? Well, i know HOW you do it, since you posted that… but really? How? I could never. It’s amazing. Love this blog – made your chicken last night πŸ™‚

  3. Carolyn says:

    Pretty awesome cake there, Laura! Your children will always remember
    their birthday cakes. Did you notice that in the last picture you captured both
    of your special men…
    Love mom

Leave a Reply

