Pizza Casserole – Old School


and now that I have your attention πŸ™‚ I’d like to introduce you to an old friend of mine… the pizza casserole…

My Mom used to make this now and then and it was one of my absolute favorites!! I don’t think I’ve ever made it on my own before tonight but I know it will be on my quick go to list from now on. This one’s for you Ma!!

OK, so a few of you mentioned you wanted some tips on sneaking in some healthy ingredients that cannot be detected by your family… I added a couple of things in here just for you… got nuthin’ but luv for ya πŸ™‚

Off we go!

Get a big ole pot of water boiling on the stove. Be sure to throw in about a tsp of salt. Please promise me you will always salt your pasta water… please?? Thank you…


Now grab a carrot… you asked for this!


Grab a fine grater and a bowl… then get to work!


I did about a cup of grated carrot…


Grab a jar of your favorite pasta sauce… I like this kind from Hunt’s because there isn’t any added sugar and it’s cheap… a lot of thought going into that, huh!


Next up… ground flax-seed!!!! You can buy flax-seed already ground but it loses its nutritional value faster than in whole seed form so I buy it whole and keep it in the freezer until I need it. Then I grab my coffee grinder… which I’ve never used for coffee. I use it for flax, crackers, corn chips, oatmeal… whatever I want to obliterate into a flour like consistency.


Pour in 1 or 2 tablespoons of whole seeds. I prefer the dark brown flax… more on that in another post…


Whiz Bang!! Now I have a very fine flax powder that cannot be detected in really any food… except maybe ice cream…


By now your pasta is done… I never really told you to cook the pasta but it’s too late for now… oh, and preheat your oven to 350… You’ll want to cook your pasta until it’s almost al dente. It’s going to bake in the oven for a bit and you don’t want it to be mush. It shouldn’t be grainy but not tender either.


Return your pasta to your large pot. Make sure it is NOT over a hot burner…


Add the pasta sauce. If you can’t get that last bit of sauce out of the jar/can add the tiniest bit of water and slosh it around a bit. Works like a charm and stretches your sauce a bit further. You don’t have to worry about it getting runny thanks to the flax!


In goes the carrot… while no one is looking…


In goes the flax… I kinda overdid mine here…


In goes a handful of mozzarella cheese…


Then a few pepperoni… no need to get too crazy here…


At some point you should have grabbed an oven safe baking dish.


Another bit of cheese…


Finally some pepperoni…

Now into the oven until the cheese is all melty and the pepperoni are starting to crisp up.


And it looks a little like this… mmmmmmmmmmmm


My Mom always did a great job of making sure everyone had a crispy pepperoni in their helping πŸ™‚ Oh… look… somehow I got 2… It’s fun being in charge of dishing up the food πŸ™‚

This is comfort food and you can definitely make it a kinda healthy food if you want.I bet you can’t spot or taste the carrot in here and the flax just looks like spices. I had a dinner guest tonight and she had no idea I had pulled a fast one on her… until now πŸ˜‰ Β Just try it!!

Also, keep scrolling to get in on the latest giveaway….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pizza Casserole – Old School

  1. jmtwid says:

    LOVE this recipe. My grama used to make something similar called Upside down Pizza. Instead of pasta, she would mix hamburger peperoni, cheese, sour cream together, then top with a cresant roll. It was wonderful.

    This blog is great Laura..

    Jaci

    • kitchentutor says:

      Thanks Jaci!! We haven’t been to O-town in a while but will have to look you guys up when we do! Anxious to hear how your little family is doing! I do check up on your blog πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

