Homemade Salsa

I.Love.Fresh.Salsa

Maybe you have a favorite jarred salsa… well, you can have it my friend. If you love super chunky vinegary salsa… you can have my share. I love fresh, thin, spicy, clean salsa. Clean?? It sounded good to me 🙂

For the longest time I have searched for the best jar of salsa. I’ve tried local favorites and mass-produced favorites but have always been disappointed. The closest I came to finding a good salsa was at our favorite local Mexican restaurant… El Azteca. I could go on for hours about that place but I’m going to stick to salsa today.

Little did I know that my favorite salsa wasn’t on a shelf at my local market… it was in my cupboard and in my refrigerator… in pieces… just waiting to be brought together in perfect harmony. Oh yeah… it’s that good. The kinda good where your friends accidentally grab your container of salsa after a party and realize it when they get home but instead of returning the salsa they eat it all and then let you know they have your container… I know who you are Mrs. S 🙂

Anyway… enough finger-pointing… I can’t completely claim this recipe as my own. I was inspired by this original recipe. If you don’t love this site… spend an hour on it and you will, trust me!

I have modified it at bit. Feel free to try both versions! Mine makes about 1/2 of the original recipe. This is enough to keep on hand at our house. If we’re hosting or heading to a party I double it. As if you can ever have too much salsa…

Here’s how it rolls in my house…

With just a few common staple ingredients…


and a blender or food processor… you are ready for business.


Chop off a chunk of onion.


I use about 1/4 cup.


Next I chop up some fresh cilantro. Mine is probably about 1/4 packed but really I just go for a handful or so. I’ve used dried in a pinch and it’s fine, not as amazing but it works.


Next a jalapeno. I use a whole one and just take the seeds and ribs out of 1/2. You can just use 1/2 if you want to keep it milder. Take all the seeds out if you really wanna be mild.


Give that a good chop.


Throw in a can of Rotel. I use original.


I use a clove or maybe 2 of garlic. I.love.garlic. If you don’t… you can hold back 🙂


Next a 1/2 of a lime juiced.


Next… some cumin. I use my spice jar lid as a measuring spoon. See how exact it is 😉

Also, some salt… forgot the picture, sorry folks!


Finally a can of diced tomatoes.


Pop the lid on and give it a few pulses. If you like it kinda chunky you can stop as soon as you want. I like to give mine a couple good power pulses and a short blend.


And there it is… red gold… oh so fragrant and delicious!!


You can sure eat it all up right now. I like to put mine in a jar in the fridge for a couple of hours to let it get good and cold and allow all the flavors to mingle and make nice.

This stuff is good on about anything!! Share it!! You will be loved!!

Homemade Fresh Salsa

1/4 cup diced onion
1 handful chopped fresh cilantro
1 or 2 garlic cloves chopped
1/4 tsp coarse salt
1/2 tsp cumin
juice from 1/2 lime
1 can Rotel
1 can diced or whole tomatoes
1/2 or 1 whole jalapeno

Mix in any order in blender or food processor to your desired consistency. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Homemade Salsa

  1. Amber says:

    Love that you put this recipe on here! I was going to ask you for it or ask that you make me a whole bunch 🙂

  2. Pingback: Salsa Marinated Steak Tacos | The Kitchen Tutor

  3. Pingback: Taco Pizza | The Kitchen Tutor

  4. Pingback: Easiest Hot Dip Ever | The Kitchen Tutor

  5. Pingback: Chicken Tostadas | The Kitchen Tutor

  6. Pingback: Chicken Sausage w/ Cream Sauce | The Kitchen Tutor

  7. Pingback: Smoky Beef Quesadillas | The Kitchen Tutor

  8. Pingback: 6th Month Anniversary!! Giveaway!! | The Kitchen Tutor

  9. Pingback: Aunt Trudy’s Taco Salad | The Kitchen Tutor

  10. Pingback: Margarita Chicken | The Kitchen Tutor

  11. Pingback: Chicken Sausage w/ Cream Sauce

  12. Pingback: Chicken Tostadas

  13. Pingback: Taco Night! | The Kitchen Tutor

Leave a Reply

