Jr. Kitchen Tutor – Pizza


I have 2 small kitchen helpers at my house. One 4 1/2 year old, one 3 year old. The love to be in the kitchen with me. It’s always more fun for them to eat if they know they’ve helped make the food. Here is a super quick, super easy idea for something you make with your kids, grandkids, nieces, nephews… or by yourself as a kid at heart 🙂


Here’s what we use… small tortillas, pizza sauce, cheese, and pepperoni. For the big kid (me) brown rice tortillas and spinach.


I get out a small tortilla and put a small amount of sauce in a bowl with a spoon. If you control the size of the stuff they can make a mess out of, you can control the size of the mess… kinda 🙂


Then give them the creative freedom to sauce away!


This is also a great way to work on motor skills… by the way… she’s become quite the expert pizza saucer over her few short years in the kitchen.


Next, the cheese…


Encourage them be sure to get the cheese all around the pizza.


Next, any other toppings your child will eat…


Now into the toaster oven. You could do this in a regular oven but you may want to put them on a baking stone or pan. Let me take a second to say if you don’t have a toaster oven, you should think about getting one. We kicked our microwave to the basement when we got ours. Food cooks super fast and gets crispy and yummy… just sayin’


In a couple minutes… you have pizza!!


My little girl even made my pizza. I prefer some fresh spinach after my sauce and before my cheese. Healthy and tasty! Who needs frozen pizza???? These are less expensive and better for you!! Try it!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jr. Kitchen Tutor – Pizza

  1. Caitlin says:

    We do homemade pizza often with a dough crust, but I’ve never tried it on tortillas. Maybe we will for lunch this week! So much faster than waiting for dough to rise. 🙂

Leave a Reply

