Turkey Burgers


Mmmmm… turkey burgers… I love hamburgers but sometimes I really love a good turkey burger. Not as greasy and you can give it as much or as little flavor/spice as you want. I like making turkey burgers in my skillet as opposed to my grill. I have the worst luck with turkey burgers on the grill for some reason… always falling apart and making a mess. Any tips on grilling turkey burgers are welcome πŸ˜‰ In the mean time… here’s how I do them in a pan!!


Plop your lean ground turkey into a bowl.


Toss in a good handful of finely diced onion. This will give it moisture. Turkey burgers can get kinda dry but this will help out. You don’t want any big hunks of onion so keep chopping! I like to also throw in a finely diced clove of garlic, a generous pinch of salt and ground pepper. Beyond that I add whatever flavors I’m in the mood for. You can add any herb or spice you want. I did some thyme and a spicy seasoning mix I found in the cupboard. Don’t be afraid to experiment here!


Next, get a pan with some olive oil rolling on the stove. While that is heating up use your hands to mix all this together and form into patties.


When your oil is nice and warm drop your burgers into the pan. I like to drop the lid on 3/4 of the way to keep moisture in while they’re cooking.


Let them hang out a while. When they easily lift off the bottom of the pan and you can tell they have browned, give them a flip. I usually turn my heat down a bit here.


This is optional… I put a squirt of BBQ sauce on each one…


Then spread it around a bit. After the burger has cooked all the way through on the second side I give them one more flip so I can put BBQ sauce on the other side.


Next I cut an avocado in half and use a spoon to loosen it from the skin. Then I slice it with a sharp knife and put it right on my turkey burger… this is technically optional… but if you haven’t tried it… do it… so good.


Drop it on a plate… or a bun, if you can eat stuff like that πŸ™‚ along with some veggies and maybe some rice or potatoes and there you have it! Healthy burgers in no time!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Turkey Burgers

  1. Callie says:

    My advice for Turkey burgers on the grill:
    1: Grate the onions instead of dicing.
    2: Get the grill screamin’ hot before you put the burgers on.
    3: Don’t touch ’em till they are nearly done. Then just flip them to brown the other side. Maybe it will work…maybe it wont. πŸ™‚

    • kitchentutor says:

      Good tips!! I have this strange fear of grating onions… there, I said it… well, I wrote it anyway πŸ™‚ I’m always afraid they will fall apart and I’ll totally grate my hand. Weird, I know, but what else would you expect!?!?

  2. Ashley says:

    Looks yummy Laura! you always make your food look so pretty) No wonder maddy doesn’t want to eat when she comes to my house. LOL!

  3. Pingback: For dinner this week… | The Kitchen Tutor

Leave a Reply

