Cooking Top 5 + Giveaway!

I love to cook!! You should know that by now! I credit my love for cooking on the days I really don’t feel like cooking to my cooking tools. If the tools you use to do your job are dependable and make it easier… it can make all the difference.

Today I’m going to share my current top 5 cooking tools. Notice I said current… one or two of these will likely change when summer comes around and I can grill πŸ™‚ I’ve got other top 5 ideas as well so I hope you like the idea! Plus… each will include a giveaway! Yay!!!

OK, here’s the deal… if someone showed up at my door and told me they were going to whisk me and my family away for a month to a furnished home getaway… just a hypothetical… what 5 cooking tools would I grab knowing they would have the basics but not knowing if what they had were what I really wanted to use. I know it’s a bit complex… there’s a blizzard outside and we don’t have cable πŸ™‚

First, my butcher block…

I couldn’t tell you what kind of wood it’s made out of or what brand it is. All I remember is that my husband and I had gotten into a disagreement and to make peace he showed up with this thing! My love for him and cooking grew by leaps and bounds πŸ™‚

My butcher block has 2 rules – No mean and no wheat!
I didn’t want to worry about contamination from meat to fruits and veggies. I’m gluten-free and didn’t want to stress about that either so everything else gets cut on the lower quality cutting boards… sorry wheat and meat! Having a good cutting surface can make prep work so much more enjoyable. This baby doesn’t slide around or get stuck to my knife. It’s amazing!

#2 = dutch oven

I LOVE this thing… oh my word do I love this dutch oven. It’s so versatile! I do roasts, make candy, soup, sear meat, bake past, chili… really anything. It’s easy to clean up and can go on the stove top, in the oven, and into the fridge. Not the dishwasher but I don’t hold it against my dutch oven πŸ˜‰

I’d love to snag an oblong one some day to accommodate larger roasts and poultry but for now this little beauty is just great! As long as I have this thing… I’ll never see a reason to get a dog. It’s loyal, it’s there when I need it, and it helps me cook!!

#3 = stainless steel saute pan

This is a seasonal favorite. When I can get out and grill this pan sees less game time but in the winter months… it’s on!! This pan is amazing for searing meats, cooking sauces, sauteing vegetables, stir fry… it’s great and regulates the temperature so well. It has a copper bottom. It’s a good thing πŸ™‚

#4 = chef knife

This is a year round favorite. I use this daily and if it’s in the dishwasher mid cycle and I need it… I’m opening the dishwasher! After a while a good chef knife will be like an extension of your arm, creepy but in a good way! I use this to prep 95% of my produce. This is the type of knife you should use to chop or dice anything!! Watermelon… yes… onion… yes… garlic… yes!! The size of the food you are cutting doesn’t change the knife you use to chop, slice, or dice. This is your tool! I prefer a NON serrated edge for about a dozen reasons.

#5 = utility/paring knife

Here’s my little buddy. This knife is pretty useful in those random jobs. I use this to peel citrus and apples. I use it to segment citrus, which I’ll show you soon. I use it to cut cheese. I use it to trim chicken breasts of that weird white stuff. I use it when my chef knife is busy. I use it to cut the tops off strawberries. It’s kind of all-purpose. It’s good to become comfortable with your utility knife as it is very versatile.

So, there you have it! My current top 5 cooking tools! I’d LOVE to hear about your favorites!! I’m so excited, in fact, that I’m willing to bribe you to share them! Leave your top 5… or 10… or maybe just 1 cooking tools in the comments and a random winner will be selected to receive this…

It’s a KUHN RIKON paring/utility knife – in teal. It’s a great little knife that will make cooking just a little bit more fun!

To enter : Leave a comment about your favorite cooking tools or tools! No entries past midnight CST Saturday night! Winner will be announced Monday morning!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cooking Top 5 + Giveaway!

  1. Kris Gardner says:

    my fav is my silicone vegetable steamer….fits in to any size pot, unlike the metal one.

  2. Caitlin says:

    I love my cast iron skillet (possibly the reason I’m starting to like cooking – I’m more of a baker) and my KitchenAid. Oh, also my little Cutco knife set from our wedding.

  3. Carolyn says:

    My favorite tool–my Magic Bullet processor! Smoothies every morning on the way to work, makes great dipping sauces for vegies, fish or chicken strips. I guess that really isn’t a cooking tool…but I love it anyway! By the way, when are you going to bake those sugar cookies? I need to know so I can conveniently stop by and sample them.

  4. Nicole says:

    Great post. I’m thinking to myself…..I sure hope I didn’t set anything on that cutting board that shouldn’t belong there! Sorry if I did!

    Anyway….my favorite kitchen tools.
    1. KitchenAid mixer
    2. Pampered Chef spring form pans {yup, I have 2 of them}
    3. The little white tool that comes with the spring form pans to unstick the cheesecakes after they bake. This is a VERY important tool.
    4. PC baking stones
    5. PC bamboo & nylon spoons/tools
    6. PC cookware….only have 2 pieces so far
    7. PC large & mini batter bowl

    Hmm. I’m seeing a trend here. I guess that is what happens when one use to sell the products! πŸ™‚

  5. Callie says:

    My French Coffee Press. I do not use it everyday, but when I make coffee this way, it’s a real treat. Gimme some chocolate, and I’m good.
    I also love my fish spatuala. Its light weight, flexable, more gentle on foods that easily tear, or break.

Leave a Reply

