One Pot Pork Roast Dinner


Everybody’s here!! Let’s get started!

Ah, the amazing one pot dinner. How can you not love it. This can be done in a crock pot, a dutch oven, or a roasting pan. My dutch oven is one of my favorite kitchen tools. I could go on here for a while… maybe I’ll just dedicate an entire post to my dutch oven later so we can move on here 🙂

The beauty of a long, slow roast is the tenderness of the meat and the flavor that extends to everything in the pot. It’s a taste explosion waiting to happen!

The BEST way to start this out is NOT how I did it today. I was in a rush and did not thaw out my meat. I’m starting from frozen. It’ll be great but it could be greater. The best way to start your meat is to sear it on all sides in a hot pan before adding the rest and throwing it in the oven. That process seals in all the delicious juices and still keeps it’s flavor from the browning in the hot pan… I’ll show you this in my beef pot roast post, I promise 🙂


That being said… here’s my fresh from the freezer pork roast. It’s not a very big one but it will get the job done for our family 🙂 You can sear the roast while it is partially frozen but bottom line, I was lazy… can we just let it go!!


This is another great recipe for working on your knife skills! Peel, if you prefer, and chop up your carrots. Keep them in fairly large pieces. They will be cooking for a long time and you don’t want them to be mush.


Chop up a couple stalks of celery. If you don’t like celery… leave it out. NBD.


Peel and quarter an onion.


Peel and chop up your potatoes. Again… leave them in large pieces.

Also, smash a couple cloves of garlic too. No need to chop or dice them. Just give them a good smash with the side of your knife blade to open them up.


Add everything to the pot. I turned my roast on it’s side so everything fit to my liking. You set it up however you want!


Have some chicken/vegetable stock standing by. I know this looks odd. I use a concentrated stock that I dilute and I didn’t stir it… laziness… pure laziness.


Add the stock, season generously with salt, pepper, thyme or any other spice that sounds good. This is also good with apple cider vinegar and chunked apple pieces if your family will allow that sort of craziness.

Into the middle of the oven at 275 degrees for a few hours, depending on the size of your roast and your patience level.


We had a last minute engagement come up and I had to take mine out just as everything was done but I would prefer to let this go for another hour or so until the veggies started to really brown up on top and get a little crispy.


You can serve this however you want. I like to slice the meat super thin…


Then I throw it back into the pot to get all juicy again while I scoop out the carrots and potatoes. You could shred it up and cover it in some BBQ sauce. You could serve it with apple sauce… whatever sounds good.


Me, I just like it right out of the pot. I, of course, like to smash a little butter on to my potatoes but that’s about it. Everything has developed amazing flavor. The think ahead prep time is totally worth the reward when you just open the pot and serve hours later! Love it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Pot Pork Roast Dinner

  1. Callie says:

    Mmmmm… Looks so good! Beautiful pictures too.

Leave a Reply

